Unemployment Insurance Assistance
SHARE
Latest Updates
What You Need to Know
  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance: Beginning October 20, 2021 through November 18, 2021, DUA is available to New Yorkers in the following New York Counties – Bronx, Dutchess, Kings, Nassau, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester – who (1) lost employment as a direct result of Hurricane Ida and (2) live or work in an impacted county. Learn more about DUA.

  • Federal Benefits Ending: As of September 5, 2021, several federal unemployment benefit programs, including PUA, PEUC, EB, and the FPUC and MEUC supplements, have expired, per federal law. For more information, visit dol.ny.gov/fedexp.

  • Extending Shared Work Benefits - 9/17/21: New legislation (S.4049/A.5678) changes the cap on Shared Work benefits from a maximum of 26 weeks to a maximum of 26 times an individual’s weekly benefit rate. The Shared Work program allows employers to keep employees and avoid layoffs by allowing staff members to receive partial Unemployment Insurance benefits (UI) while working reduced hours. Prior to this legislation, claimants could only receive 26 weeks of benefits, regardless of what the claimant's maximum benefit entitlement was under UI. This change will allow active, approved participants to collect Shared Work benefits until they reach their maximum benefit amount allowed under traditional UI or have reached their benefit year end date. 

  • Partial Unemployment Update – 8/17/21:  New York State has modified the rules for partial unemployment eligibility. This update will apply to the benefit week of Monday, August 16, 2021 to Sunday, August 22, 2021 and all benefit weeks going forward. When certifying for benefits, New Yorkers should refer the new guidelines for reporting part-time work, available here.

  • Waiting Week Update – 6/28/21: Following the expiration of New York State’s COVID-19 State of Emergency, the Unemployment Insurance unpaid waiting period rule is once again in effect. New Unemployment Insurance claims filed on and after June 28, 2021 will include an unpaid waiting week. Claimants will not receive payment for the first full week of a claim but must still claim weekly benefits and fulfill eligibility requirements. For more information, visit on.ny.gov/wwfaqs.
  • Important FAQs and Information:   Top Frequently Asked Questions Apply to Shared Work Program | Overpayment Waiver and Appeal Process | DocuSign FAQs | Find an ATM Near You | How to Switch to Direct Deposit | NY Project Hope Emotional Support
Report Fraud
UI Fraud and Identity Theft
The Department of Labor works very hard to protect the integrity of our agency and programs. To combat and stop unemployment insurance (UI) fraud and identity theft, we work actively alongside local, state and federal law enforcement agencies, government agencies, claimants, and employers in New York State and around the country. NYS DOL has launched a new online fraud resource with important information about protecting your identity from fraudsters, including guidance on how to report fraud, protect your personal information, and observe safe online practices.
Calculators
Tools to Help You
These tools are designed to give you estimations of your benefit rate, how many weeks of ebenfits you are eligible for and how working part-time could impct your benefits.
Resources
Claimant Handbook & Frequently Asked Questions
Unemployment Insurance Handbook

The handbook provides general information for Unemployment Insurance benefits. Find this document in English and various other languages.

Frequently Asked Questions

Get answers to your questions about Unemployment Insurance.

Assistance
Claimant Advocate Office

Advocates provide free, impartial and confidential services that help claimants, particularly those with limited English proficiency or other barriers, understand their rights and responsibilities under Unemployment Insurance Law.

Hearings & Appeals

If you are found ineligible to receive unemployment insurance benefits, you will receive a determination explaining the reason. If you disagree, you may request a hearing within 30 days from the date of the determination.

We Are Your DOL

+
Hi! I'm Perkins, the UI Bot.
Click me for assistance.