Crane Exams

Crane Classifications

A Crane Operator Certificate of Competence is required to operate a crane in New York State in connection with construction, demolition, and excavation work.  When issued by the Commissioner of Labor, this certificate authorizes operation of cranes anywhere in New York State, outside of the City of New York, and is a state-mandated license that both satisfies, and is required by, OSHA's new crane certification standard. The Class A unrestricted license is the only license that allows operation of any type of crane.

Applications for Crane Operator Certificate of Competence are now online.

This completely online system speeds up the application process and makes information about applications readily available, so we encourage all applicants to use MPWR for all their application needs. Using MPWR, you can:

  • Pay online
  • Submit and upload the required documentation
  • Receive real-time updates about the status or issues with respect to their application

To access MPWR, create an ID at and log in to the MPWR homepage.

The NYS Department of Labor License & Certification Unit administers Operational exams for the following classifications of cranes. 

  • Class A - Unrestricted – Conventional, cable, lattice boom, and friction are names that have been used in reference to this classification.  This classification includes all cranes having a fixed lattice boom, with or without free fall capability; conventional tower cranes, derricks, and all cranes with free fall capability. Class A allows operation of any crane.
  • Class B - Hydraulic – This includes all hydraulic cranes which have a telescopic boom and swinging cab; there is no restriction on maximum manufacturer’s rating. This classification also includes smaller trailer or truck mounted self-erecting tower cranes, as well as boom trucks having over 28-ton manufacturer’s rated capacity. Class B allows operation of B, C & D.
  • Class C - Boom Truck – This includes cranes having telescopic booms which are generally truck mounted and up to 28-ton maximum manufacturer’s rated capacity. Class C allows operation of C & D.
  • Class D - Restricted Boom Truck – These cranes are also referred to as sign hangers, but their use is not restricted to that industry. This includes cranes having telescopic booms which are generally truck mounted and up to 3-ton maximum manufacturer’s rated capacity, and up to 125 feet of boom. Class D allows operation of D only.
  • Class E – Reserved.
  • Class F - Line Truck – These cranes are also referred to as digger derricks. It is up to 15-ton maximum manufacturer’s rated capacity, 65-foot maximum boom length, utilizing a non-conductive tip with nylon rope, for use in electrical applications only. Class F allows operation of F only.