The Asbestos Control Bureau (ACB) oversees the abatement of toxic hazards associated with asbestos fiber by performing inspections during the rehabilitation, reconstruction, or demolition of buildings and other structures originally constructed with asbestos or asbestos-containing materials. The ACB also responds to complaints with regards to asbestos. As well as enforcing the New York State Labor Law and Industrial Code Rule 56. 


For general information about asbestos and asbestos rules, click on the button below.

Asbestos Facts & Responsibilities


To search an Asbestos Contractor near you, see our Asbestos Contractors Listing page.

Asbestos Notifications

Industrial Code Rule 56 (Asbestos)

The ACB enforces the New York State Labor Law and Industrial Code Rule 56 (Asbestos).  

The code requires the following to ensure the proper abatement of asbestos materials:

  • Licensing of contractors
  • Certification of all persons working on asbestos projects
  • Filing of notifications for large projects  
  • Surveys of buildings to identify any asbestos that may be present
  • Abatement methods for asbestos containing materials


For general questions concerning asbestos, asbestos surveys or asbestos abatement, email [email protected] or [email protected].

Information for Homeowners

Asbestos Control Bureau District Offices

For questions concerning specific locations or properties, please contact the applicable district office.

Albany District

Counties: Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Dutchess, Essex, Green, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington

Address: State Office Campus, Room 157, Albany, NY 12226
(518) 457-1255 (FAX) (518) 485-8054
(518) 457-2072 (FAX)(518) 485-8054 (Field Office)

Email: [email protected]

Buffalo District

Counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates

Address: 290 Main St., Mezzanine, Buffalo, NY 14202
(716) 847-7601 (716) 847-7126 (FAX) (716) 847-7138 

Email: [email protected]

New York City District

Counties: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Queens, Richmond, Suffolk, Westchester

Address: PO Box 15047, Albany, NY 12212
(212) 775-3532

Email: [email protected]

Syracuse District

Counties: Broome, Cayuga, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Otsego, St. Lawrence, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins,

Address: 450 S. Salina Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
(315) 479-3215 (FAX) (315) 479-3333

Email: [email protected]

Asbestos Forms & Publications

Applicable Variances

For more information on variances from ICR SG please head over to our Engineering Services Unit.

Asbestos Notifications and License and Certification Unit

License and Certification Unit

State Office Campus, Room 161A, Albany, NY  12226
(518) 457-2735 (FAX) (518) 485-8530

If you have any license or certification questions, e-mail: license&[email protected] 

If you have any asbestos questions, e-mail: [email protected]