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YOUTH WORKERS BILL OF RIGHTS

As you enter the world of work it is important that you know your rights under the law. All workers in New York State
have rights no matter their age, immigration status, or work authorization. Workers who are younger than 18 have
additional rights to protect their safety at work and their time to rest and learn outside of the workplace.

1. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO RECEIVE YOUR FULL
PAYCHECK ON TIME
« Your employer must pay you on payday for all the hours
you worked. Payday is a regularly scheduled day every
week or every month when workers are paid for the
hours they worked.

2. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO EARN THE MINIMUM WAGE
« Your employer must pay you at least the minimum wage
for each hour you work. The minimum wage is the
lowest amount of money your employer can legally pay
you for each hour you work.

« The minimum wage is different depending on where in
New York State you work and what job you are doing.
To find the minimum wage for your job visit the Youth
Worker Information Hub by using the information at the
bottom of this page.

3. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO RECEIVE A PAYSTUB
» Your employer must give you a digital or paper paystub
every time you are paid. A paystub is a document that
details the amount you earned, the hours you worked,
and any taxes taken out of your paycheck.

4. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO A SAFE WORKPLACE
« If your employer asks you to do something that poses a
risk of serious injury or death, you have the right to say no.

- Workers under 18 years old cannot be hired or asked
to do jobs the law says are too dangerous for young
people. To see the list of jobs workers younger than 18
cannot do visit the Youth Worker Information Hub by
using the information at the bottom of this page.

5. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO KEEP ANY TIPS YOU
RECEIVE
« Your employer cannot take money from tips you
receive. You have a right to keep any tips you receive
either from customers or from tips pooled with your
coworkers.

6. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO TAKE BREAKS
- If you work 6 hours or more in a row, you have the right
to at least one 30-minute break.

7. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO A DISCRIMINATION-FREE
WORKPLACE

. It is against the law to be treated unfairly or harassed
at your job because of your race or ethnicity, your sex,
gender identity or gender expression, your immigration
status, or your religion.

« To learn more about discrimination in the workplace or
to report discrimination or harassment at your job, visit
the New York State Division of Human Rights Website:
dhr.ny.gov/complaint

8. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO ATTEND SCHOOL

« As a worker who is under 18 years old, your employer
can not ask you to work during school hours.

9. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO TIME TO STUDY AND REST

« As a worker who is under 18 years old, your employer
can only ask you to work a limited number of hours,
during certain times each week.

« Your employer must keep track of your hours and post
a schedule that clearly shows what hours you and any
other workers who are younger than 18 are working.
You should keep track of your hours as well.

» To see the hours your employer can schedule you to
work visit the Youth Worker Information Hub by using
the information at the bottom of this page

10. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO SPEAK UP

+ Your employer cannot fire or punish you for reporting a
problem at your workplace.

- If you think your employer is violating your workplace
rights you can inform the New York State Department
of Labor. The Department of Labor will only cite your
employer for violations, not you or your family.

- Visit the Youth Worker Information Hub to learn more
about how to file a complaint by using the information
at the bottom of this page.

To learn more about your rights as a youth worker visit: dol.ny.gov/youthworkers or scan this QR code
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