
Some rules to keep in mind:
Pay Rate: You must receive at least the minimum 
wage for every hour you work. 

Written notice:  When you are hired, the 
employer must give you a sheet with your rates 
of pay, payday, credits and their name, address, 
phone number.

Overtime rate:  Most workers must receive an
overtime rate for every hour worked over 40 hours
in a workweek. The overtime rate is 1½ times the
regular hourly rate. For example, if your regular
rate is $15.00 per hour, the overtime rate is $22.50
per hour. 

Frequency of Pay:  In general, manual workers 
must be paid weekly, and must receive a pay 
stub with their wages. 

Meal period:  In general, you must have a half-hour 
meal break -- uninterrupted, without any duties -- if 
you work more than 6 hours in a row.

Employer Meals and Lodging:  Any food or 
housing that an employer gives you must meet and 
comply with all health and safety standards. 

Child Labor:  If you are under 18 years old (a 
minor), you can work if you have the right permits 
and certificates. 
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Our rules assure:
   • Proper wages
   • Safe working and living conditions
   • �Freedom from discrimination, abuse and 

retaliation at work

These rules apply to all workers:
   • Foreign 
   • Domestic 
   • Regardless of immigration status

We are here to protect your rights as  
an employee

Help us to help you.
It is against the law for anyone to obtain 
labor or other services by:
   • Force
   • Fraud	      
   • Coercion
   • Threats	      
   • Withholding documents

New York State has labor laws 
that cover you. 

The New York State Department of Labor is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.  
Auxiliary aides and services are available upon request and free of charge to individuals with disabilities TTY/TDD 711 or 1-800-662-1220 (English) / 1-877-662-4886.

No retaliation:  The law protects you against retali-
ation, punishment or poor treatment for exercising 
your rights under the labor laws.

Contact List
Call for help about:
Labor laws, unpaid wages, overtime rates, illegal
deductions, child labor, meal periods, ride safety

NYS Department of Labor
1-888-469-7365 (Choose “0” for Operator 9am-5pm)
1-877-466-9757

Enforcement of visa worker laws (H-2A/H-2B)
U.S. Department of Labor (Wage & Hour)
1-866-487-9243

Safety on the job or temporary housing concerns
Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
1-800-321-6742 (OSHA Emergency line)

For public health emergencies                                                     
NYS Department of Health                                           
1-866-881-2809

If you have become injured or sick due to work 
NYS Workers’ Compensation Board                                  
1-800-580-6665

For more information call:
The Division of Immigrant Policies and Affairs
1-877-466-9757

National Human Trafficking Resource Center
1-888-373-7888

Emergencies: Dial 911

Workers in New York State

Carnivals, Fairs 
and Concessions

New York City $16.00/hour

Long Island and 
Westchester County $16.00/hour

Remainder of New York State $15.00/hour

1/1/24 - 12/31/24

www.labor.ny.gov  1-888-469-7365    
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Algunas reglas que debe mantener 
en cuenta:
Sueldos: Debe recibir por lo menos el salario mínimo 
por cada hora trabajada.

Notificación escrita: Cuando le contraten, el 
empleador debe darle una hoja con sus tarifas de 
pago, día de pago, créditos y el nombre, dirección y 
teléfono del empleador.

Tarifa de tiempo extra: La mayoría de los trabajadores 
deben recibir tiempo y medio (overtime) por cada hora 
trabajada pasadas las 40 horas en una semana. La 
tarifa de tiempo extra es el 150% de su sueldo regular.  
Por ejemplo, si su sueldo regular es $15.00 por hora, 
su tarifa de tiempo extra es $22.50 por hora.

Distribución de pagos: Generalmente, todo obrero 
debe recibir su sueldo cada semana, y debe recibir 
una colilla o talón con su sueldo.

Tiempo para comer: Generalmente, debe recibir 
media hora de descanso para comer — sin 
interrupciones u obligaciones laborales — cuando 
trabaje más de seis horas seguidas.

Comidas y viviendas del empleador: Cualquier 
comida o vivienda que le da el empleador debe 
cumplir con las reglas de salud y seguridad.

Empleo de menores: Si tiene menos de 18 años (un 
menor de edad), puede trabajar si tiene los permisos 
y certificados adecuados. 

Nuestras reglas aseguran:
   •   Sueldos correctos

   •   �Condiciones seguras en el trabajo y  
la vivienda

   •   �Trabajo en un lugar libre de discriminación,  
abusos y represalias

Estas reglas incluyen a todo trabajador:
   •   Extranjeros

   •   Domésticos

   •   Sin importar su estatus migratorio

Estamos aquí para proteger sus derechos  
como trabajador

Ayúdenos a ayudarle
Es en contra de la ley obtener obreros u otros 
servicios mediante:
   •   Fuerza 
   •   Engaños	

   •   Intimidaciones 
   •   Amenazas	

   •   Confiscando documentos personales

Trabajadores en el estado 
de Nueva York

Ferias, Carnavales y 
Puestos de Ventas

El estado de Nueva York
tiene leyes que le protegen.

El Departamento de Trabajo del Estado de Nueva York es un empleador/programa que ofrece igualdad de oportunidades.  
Hay asistentes y servicios disponibles, a solicitud y sin costo alguno, para las personas con discapacidades TTY/TDD 711 o 1-800-662-1220 (inglés) / 1-877-662-4886.

Sin represalias: La ley le protege contra  represalias, 
castigos o trato abusivo por ejercer sus derechos 
bajo las leyes.

Lista de Contactos
Llámenos para ayuda en cuanto a:
Las leyes laborales, sueldos no pagados, tarifa del 
tiempo extra, deducciones ilegales, contrato de 
menores, tiempo de descanso, seguridad de juegos 
mecánicos.

Departamento del Trabajo de NY
1-888-469-7365 (Oprima el “0” para un 
representante, 9am-5pm)  
1-877-466-9757 

Leyes de trabajadores visados (H-2A/H-2B)                       
Departamento del Trabajo de los EE UU                             
1-866-487-9243

Seguridad en el trabajo o de viviendas temporeras
Administración de Seguridad y Salud Ocupacional
1-800-321-6742 (línea de emergencia OSHA)

Para emergencias de salud al público
Departamento de Salud de NY
1-866-881-2809

Si se ha lastimado o enfermado a causa de su empleo
Junta de Compensación Obrera de NY
1-800-580-6665

Para más información llame:
La Division de Políticas y Asuntos de Inmigrantes
1-877-466-9757

El Centro Nacional de Recursos Sobre el Tráfico  
de Humanos: 1-888-373-7888

En caso de emergencia: Marque al 911

Del 31 de diciembre de 2016 
al 30 de diciembre de 2017

Ciudad de Nueva York $16.00
/hora

Long Island y condado de Westchester $16.00
/hora

Resto del estadode Nueva York $15.00
/hora

1/1/24 -12/31/24

www.labor.ny.gov  1-888-469-7365    


