
If you know your rights under the New York State Labor 
Law, you can protect yourself in the workplace. Here are 
some basic facts and tips to keep in mind at work.

WAGES
Everyone has a right to earn at least the minimum wage, 
no matter what the job is, or who the worker may be. If 
you work more than 40 hours a week, you should get 
extra pay for the extra time you are working, although 
there are exceptions for home care workers. 

Effective January 1, 2024, farmworkers working more than 
56 hours a week must now get extra pay at a rate of 1 1/2 
times their regular pay rate for the extra hours of work.

For details on minimum wage rates in New York State, 
please visit dol.ny.gov/minimum-wage.

The minimum wage and overtime laws apply to ALL 
WORKERS, even if you are undocumented or paid:

•	 Hourly, daily, or weekly
•	 In cash or by check
•	 Off the books
Ask about filing a claim if you think you do not get paid 
the minimum wage, or you do not get more money for the 
extra time you work. Call us at 888-469-7365.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
Regardless of your immigration status, you can receive 
workers compensation if you are injured on the job. 
Contact the Advocate for Injured Workers for help at  
800-580-6665.

PROTECT YOURSELF
Write down as much information as you can, in case you 
need to make a claim. This includes:
•	 Employer’s FULL name (first, last and contact information)
•	 Address and/or phone number of the place where  

you worked
•	 State and plate number of car (if someone picks you up 

for a job)
•	 Contact information (names and phone numbers)         
•	 Times you start and stop work (include how much time 

you had for meals)
•	 How much the employer agreed to pay you

Write down the company name listed on any permits or 
licenses, or ask for a business card. Then the employer 
knows you have their information and will be less likely to 
break any labor laws.   

If you have a camera phone, you can take pictures of the 
workplace and your coworkers, including the supervisor. 
This can help you with a claim.

WARNING SIGNS
There are many red flags that can warn you about labor 
law violations. You may be a victim of  wage theft, if you: 

•	 Do not receive a record of hours worked (whether you 
get paid by check or cash)

•	 Get charged for equipment needed to work or for 
damaging property

•	 Work at least six hours straight and do not have at least 
a half-hour meal period

If you have a work-related problem with an employer, the 
Department of Labor can help you make a claim.

FOR HELP
If you would like to make a claim, call the Labor 
Department of the state where you worked. 

Below are the phone numbers to call for several 
Departments of Labor. 
New York: 	 888-469-7365 
New Jersey:	 609-292-2305 
Connecticut:	 860-263-6790 
Pennsylvania:	 717-787-4671 
Massachusetts:  617-626-6975 

New York State Department of Labor 
Division of Compliance and Education (formerly known  
as Division of Immigrant Policies and Affairs) 
877-466-9757
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