
 
                                                            Facts for Employers 
 
 

What are your responsibilities under the labor law? 
 
If you employ one or more domestic workers, you must: 

▪ Pay your worker at least the minimum wage appropriate for your region. See the 
minimum wage schedule at www.labor.ny.gov/minimumwage. 
You may need or choose to pay more than the minimum wage. If you provide 
meals and/or lodging for your employee, you may receive a credit toward the 
minimum wage paid to the worker. Call 1-888-52-LABOR for more information. 

▪ Pay overtime at 1 1/2 times your employee’s basic rate after 40 hours of work in 
a calendar week. If your employee lives in your home, you must pay overtime 
after 44 hours of work in a week. 

▪ Provide one day (24 hours) of rest per week. If your employee agrees to work on 
that day, you must pay overtime. The law encourages you to (where possible) set 
your employee’s day of rest to coincide with their day of worship, if they have 
one. 

▪ Give at least three paid days off after one year of work for you. Again, you may 
provide more than three paid days off. 

▪ Offer a written notice about your policies on sick leave, vacation, personal leave, 
holidays and hours of work. 

▪ Give your employee a written notice that lists the regular and overtime rates of 
pay and the regular payday. You can find a sample on the Department of Labor 
website.   

▪ Not retaliate against a worker(s) for complaining to you or to the Labor 
Department about labor law violations. 

 
See more information about the Department of Labor Division of Labor Standards. 
 

 

Required insurance coverage 
 
You must pay taxes for unemployment insurance for your employee(s), if you pay $500 
or more in cash wages to someone working in or about your home in a calendar 
quarter. For instructions, see Householder’s Guide for Unemployment Insurance from 
the New York State Department of Labor. 
 
If your employee works at least 40 hours per week, you must provide Workers’ 
Compensation Insurance. This covers them in case they are hurt on the job. You can 
buy Workers’ Compensation Insurance from a private company or through the New 
York State Insurance Fund (NYSIF). NYSIF is a full-service, low-cost insurance carrier 
available to any employer doing business in New York State. 
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Domestic workers who work over 40 hours a week are also entitled to statutory disability 
benefits. When an employee cannot work because they are injured or sick (defined to 
include pregnancy) as a result of something that does not occur in the course of their 
work, the employer must have an insurance policy that pays the worker up to $170 per 
week for up to 26 weeks, if the worker cannot return to work during that period and is 
not receiving other compensation from the employer. You can charge your worker(s) up 
to sixty cents a week for the cost of that policy. 
 
You may purchase Disability Benefits insurance from a private company or through the 
New York State Insurance Fund, as described above. 
 

 

New Human Rights protections 
 
The Domestic Workers’ Bill of Rights protects your worker(s) from certain forms of 
harassment based on gender, race, religion or national origin. You cannot retaliate 
against an employee if they complain about harassment. If an employee experiences 
these kinds of harassment or retaliation, they can file a complaint with the New York 
State Division of Human Rights. 
 
See frequently asked questions for businesses from the New York State Division of 
Human Rights for more information. 
 
 

Health Insurance 
 
You are not required to provide health insurance for your employee(s) or their families. 
 
You can learn more about low-cost health insurance from the New York State 
Department of Health.  
 
The New York State Department of Health also offers a Criminal History Record Check. 
If you hire a home health aide or personal assistant through an agency, the agency 
usually does a criminal history check through the Department of Health. If you hire 
someone yourself, you will not have access to a criminal history on that person. 
 

 

Other State and Federal Taxes 
 
You will need to pay the employer’s portion of FICA taxes. You also may need to 
withhold federal, state, and local employment taxes. Wages paid to a domestic worker 
are taxable income to that worker. The worker must report that income on his or her 
federal and state income tax returns and the employer must also file certain forms to 
comply with tax requirements. For more information about your tax responsibilities, see 
the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance's web page about Hiring 
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Household Help. You should also consult with an accountant or with the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) about your federal tax obligations. 
 
 

If You Hire an Immigrant Domestic Worker 
 
The Domestic Workers’ Bill of Rights and all New York State Labor Laws protect all 
workers, whether they are: 

▪ A citizen of the United States 
▪ A legal permanent resident 
▪ An immigrant with other lawful status (such as temporary protected status) 
▪ An undocumented worker 

 
These laws cover ALL workers. Their immigration status does not matter.   
 
The only exception is au pairs hired through the federal au pair program and admitted 
into the United States under a J-1 visa, which are subject to special federal rules.   
 

Labor and tax laws, including the Domestic Workers Bill of Rights, apply to all workers 
regardless of their immigration status. Although workers must be legally authorized to 
work in the United States in order to receive unemployment insurance, an employer 
must still pay unemployment insurance and other taxes for employees who are 
undocumented. 
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NYS Department of Labor Division of Labor Standards 
 
The New York State Department of Labor’s Division of Labor Standards enforces wage 
and hour laws that affect domestic workers. 
 
Domestic workers are covered for minimum wage and overtime wages. See the 
minimum wage schedule at www.labor.ny.gov/minimumwage.  You and your employee 
can agree on a higher rate of pay. If your employee doesn’t live in your home, the 
employee entitled to overtime pay of 1 ½ times the regular rate of pay when the 
employee works more than 40 hours a week. If your employee lives in your home, you 
must pay the employee overtime after 44 hours of work. 
 
When you hire an employee, you must give a written notice of: 

▪ The rate of pay you both have agreed on  
▪ The overtime rate of pay  
▪ The regular payday 

 
Employers must pay domestic workers each week. They can pay in cash or by check.   
 
Each week, employees must get a written statement that shows: 

▪ The number of hours worked 
▪ Gross pay (total before any deductions)  
▪ Any deductions for taxes or other money taken out of the employee’s pay  

 
Your employee must agree in writing to any deductions from his/her pay. An employer 
only can take deductions authorized by law. You cannot charge the employee for 
breakage, supplies, and equipment. Also, you must keep an accurate record of your 
employee’s daily and weekly hours. You must provide this record to the Department of 
Labor if we ask for it. 
 
Domestic workers are entitled to a day of rest (24 hours) in each calendar week. You 
and your employee need to agree on what day of the week he/she can take off. The day 
off may be the same as your employee’s day of worship, and the law encourages 
employers to allow this where possible, but it is not required. Your employee can agree 
to work on his/her day off, but you have to pay your employee overtime for any hours 
worked that day. 
 
If your employee works a shift of more than 6 hours on any day, the employee is entitled 
to at least 30 minutes free from duty for a meal period. You do not have to pay your 
employee for this time. If you give your employee short (10 to 15 minute) breaks, these 
are considered time worked and cannot be deducted from your employee’s pay. 
 
After your employee works for you for more than one year, your employee is entitled to 
three paid days of rest. You may give your workers other benefits such as more than 
three paid vacation days, sick leave, or health insurance. If you do give you these 
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benefits, you must put the benefit plan (including vacation days) in writing and give your 
employee a copy. 
 
If you have any questions, you may contact the offices of the Division of Labor 
standards. You may write, call or visit. If your employee believes that you are not 
following the law, your employee has a right to contact the offices of the Division of 
Labor Standards. 
 
Our address is: 
NYS Department of Labor 
Division of Labor Standards 
W. Averell Harriman State Office Campus 
Building 12 
Albany, NY 12240 
 
Our phone number for Labor Standards questions is: 1-888-52-LABOR 
 
Our email is: labor.sm.ls.ask@labor.ny.gov 
 
To find a local office:  
Visit the Department of Labor website.  
  



6 

 

How to Obtain Unemployment Insurance for Domestic Workers 
 

If you have paid cash wages of $500 or more in total, in a calendar quarter, to the 
people working in or about your home, you are required to pay New York State (NYS) 
unemployment insurance (UI). Your liability begins on the first day of that calendar 
quarter.   
 
If you need to register and would like to apply online or download a registration 
application (NYS100), visit the Department of Labor Employer Registration web page. 
You may also call 1-800-899-8810 to request a paper application.     
 
If the NYS Department of Labor determines that you are liable for unemployment 
insurance taxes, you must report the wages paid your worker(s) and pay unemployment 
insurance taxes on a quarterly basis. You can do this on a Quarterly Combined 
Withholding, Wage Reporting and Unemployment Insurance Return (form NYS45 and 
NYS45ATT if applicable). The first $8,500 of wages paid to each employee per calendar 
year is taxable. You must submit quarterly returns even if there are no wages to report. 
Returns are due 30 days after the end of each calendar quarter.   
 
The fastest and easiest way to file your NYS45 returns is through Webfile. You can 
register for Webfile through the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance. 
You can also download paper NYS45 series forms from that site. 
 
 

What Is Covered and Non-covered Employment For Personal Or Domestic 
Services? 
 
An employee is considered to be in “covered employment” if they work in New York 
State for an employer who is liable for unemployment insurance. Generally, a person 
providing home health aide services is considered an employee.  
 
Some people are not covered under New York State Unemployment Insurance Law and 
cannot be covered voluntarily. Their earnings are not taxable, and they do not have a 
right to unemployment benefits. These excluded people are: 
 

▪ Your spouse or child under the age of 21 
▪ Students who regularly attend elementary or high school during the day. 

(However, employers who are liable for unemployment taxes under the Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act must pay unemployment taxes to New York State on 
wages they pay to these students.) 

▪ Children under age 14 
▪ Babysitters under age 18 
▪ People under age 21 who do casual (occasional) work in and around the house, 

such as shoveling snow or washing windows (that does not involve the use of 
power-driven machinery) 
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▪ Independent contractors. These are people who are in business for themselves. 
People who use their services do not direct and control their work. 

 
If you are not sure about a specific situation, call the Liability & Determination Section of 
the New York State Department of Labor at 1-888-899-8810 or (518) 457-2635. 
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Workers’ Compensation Insurance  
and the New York State Insurance Fund 

If you employ a domestic worker who works more than 40 hours per week, you must 
provide Workers’ Compensation Insurance for them.  As the largest provider of 
Workers’ Compensation Insurance in the state, the New York State Insurance Fund 
(NYSIF) can help you obtain this insurance. 

Workers' Compensation Insurance protects employers from liability for on-the-job 
injuries that result in employee disability or death. It also provides injured workers with 
monetary payments and medical benefits, or, in the case of death, survivor benefits to 
their dependents.   

NYSIF was created as part of the Workers' Compensation Law of 1914 and is New 
York’s largest Workers’ Compensation Insurance carrier. By law, NYSIF is a competitive 
insurance carrier that sells Workers' Compensation and Disability Benefits Insurance to 
any employer doing business in New York State. Approximately 175,000 employers 
have NYSIF Workers' Compensation Insurance policies, which is about 31 percent of 
the market. Contact NYSIF at 1-888-875-5790 or visit the NYSIF website to learn more 
about obtaining Workers’ Compensation Insurance from NYSIF.   
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New York State Human Rights Law 
Employment Rights of Domestic Workers 

 
As of November 29, 2010, the New York State Human Rights Law protects domestic 
workers from certain forms of harassment based on gender, race, religion or national 
origin. Also, an employer cannot retaliate against a worker if they complain about 
harassment. Laws of 2010, Chapter 481.  
 
A person is considered a domestic worker if they work in another person’s home to care 
for a child; serve as a companion for a sick, convalescing or elderly person; do 
housekeeping; or perform any other domestic service purpose.  N.Y. Labor Law § 2.16 
and Human Rights Law (N.Y. Exec. Law) § 296-b. 
 
For other kinds of work, the Human Rights Law applies only to employers who have four 
or more employees. However, the Human Rights Law has special provisions barring 
harassment against domestic workers that apply to all employers of domestic workers, 
regardless of the number of employees they have.   
 
 

What kinds of harassment are against the law? 
 
The law bars several kinds of harassment against domestic workers, both men and 
women. Unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, or other verbal or 
physical conduct of a sexual nature can be the subject of a claim under the Human 
Rights Law if any of the following occurs: 
 

• Either explicitly or implicitly, an employer has made giving in to sexual 
advances or requests for sexual favors a term or condition of keeping your 
job. An employee believes that if he/she objects, the employee will be fired, 
and the only way to escape the harassment is to quit the job  

• An employer bases employment decisions, such as hours of work or how 
much an employee is paid, on whether or not he/she submits to the 
employer’s sexual advances or other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual 
nature 

• The unwanted advances or other sexual conduct, either purposely or in 
effect, interfere with an employee’s work performance by creating an 
intimidating, hostile, or offensive working environment 

 
Examples of harassment forbidden by the new law can include: 
 

• Pressure to engage in unwelcome sexual activities 

• Unnecessary or inappropriate physical contact 

• Sexual assault 

• A pattern of sexual comments or questions or the creation of an atmosphere 
that taken together, constitutes harassment or abuse 
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An action taken based on an employee’s race, gender, religion or national origin is also 
considered harassment under the law if it is intended to interfere with another person’s 
work performance by creating an intimidating, hostile or offensive work environment.   
 
Harassment of a domestic worker that constitutes a hostile work environment under the 
Human Rights Law can include offensive or humiliating comments or jokes about an 
employee’s gender, race, religion or national origin. 
 
 

Retaliation for complaining about harassment 
 
Under the New York State Human Rights Law, an employer cannot retaliate against a 
worker who complains about harassment in the workplace, or who files a complaint with 
the NYS Division of Human Rights. This means that an employer cannot fire an 
employee who complains about harassment, nor can the employer take any other 
negative actions against the employee because the employee filed a complaint. 
 
 

What Human Rights Law does not cover 
 
The Human Rights Law does not cover domestic workers who: 
 

• Work on only a casual basis, such as those who occasionally babysit or do 
other household services for a limited amount of time 

• Work for a person they are related to by blood, marriage or adoption 
 
 

How to file a complaint 
 
If an employee thinks that he or she has been:  

• sexually harassed by an employer,  

• harassed because of his/her gender, race, religion or national origin, or 

• retaliated against because he/she complained about harassment,  
the employee can file a complaint with the New York State Division of Human Rights. 
 
The complaint must be filed with the NYS Division of Human Rights within one year of 
when the harassment occurred. The harassment must have occurred on or after 
November 29, 2010 in order for a complaint to be filed.   
 
The complaint may also be filed in state court within three years of when the alleged 
harassment occurred. The employee will probably need an attorney to help with this. 
 
The Division of Human Rights has regional offices throughout the state. A complaint can 
be filed at the regional office nearest to the home or place of employment. For more 
information, please go to the website of the NYS Division of Human Rights.   
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New York State Department of Health Programs 
 
The programs most likely to be of help to workers are the New York State of Health 
Marketplace  and Medicaid.  
 
Medicaid is a program for those who cannot afford to pay for medical care. It provides 
broad coverage, including routine health care, hospitalizations, prescriptions and other 
services. Go to the Department of Health Medicaid web page for more information. 


