Division of Safety and Health Safety Training Program 1220 Washington Ave. Building 12, Room 154 Albany, NY 12226 (518) 457-1536



NEW YORK STATE of Labor

www.labor.ny.gov esu.sh@labor.ny.gov

# Elevator and Other Conveyances Continuing Education Course Curriculum Information

All types of New York State elevator licenses are valid for a period of two years from the date of issuance (Elevator Mechanics, Accessibility Lift Technician and Elevator Inspector).

To renew a license, all elevator licensees who are required to take continuing education must complete two approved 8-hour courses at least 12 months apart during the term of their previous licensure period.

The Elevator and Other Conveyances Continuing Education Course ("course") is applicable for the renewal of all license types. The required number of training contact hours is the same for all license types.

Training providers who are interested in providing courses must develop the courses in accordance with the curriculum below and obtain approval from the Department of Labor.

Training providers must cover required topics per NYS Labor Law Article 33, Section 954 (5).

To obtain approval to provide courses, training providers must submit an application package and nonrefundable \$500 fee to the Department of Labor. The Application for Approval or Revision of an Elevator Continuing Education Training Course, SH 115, form can be found on the Department of Labor's website: <u>https://dol.ny.gov/application-approval-or-revision-elevator-and-other-conveyances-sh115</u>.

# **Elevator and Other Conveyances Continuing Education Course Curriculum**

# Required Topics per NYS Labor Law Article 33, Section 954(5) Minimum Hours

# New and Existing National, State, and Local Conveyances Codes and Standards

# Examples of this topic include but are not limited to:

- Knowledge of recent revisions and awareness of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Standards A17.1, A17.2, A17.3, A18.1 and QEI-1
- New York State Building, Fire, Electrical and Accessibility Codes associated with Elevators/Conveyances
- · Local City/County Codes and Regulations in New York State
- Professional Ethics Code and Conduct
- New York State Labor Law Article 33 and NYS Department of Labor Elevator Website Guidance, Documents and/or Factsheets

3.00

# Technology and Technical Education

#### Examples of this topic includes but is not limited to:

- New technology/applications of elevator/conveyances hardware and software
- Elevator Industry Equipment/Terminology
- Mechanical and Hydraulic Principles
- Understanding and Awareness of Elevator/Conveyances Architectural Drawings
- Existing technology/applications of elevator/conveyances crucial to the operation and safety of elevator/conveyances (electrical circuitry, construction principles)

#### Elevator/Conveyances Workplace Safety

#### Examples of this topic includes but is not limited to:

- Elevator Industry Field Employees' Safety Handbook
- OSHA 1917.116 Elevators and Escalators
- Case Studies and Discussion Forum Highlighting dangers of Construction, Installation, Inspection, Testing, Maintenance, Alteration, Service or Repair of Elevator/Conveyances

#### **Total Contact Hours:**

# **Continuing Education Course Information**

• There is no examination and hands-on session; however, students are expected to participate and contribute throughout the course.

# Verification of Attendee Identity and Department of Motor Vehicles Identification Numbers (DMV ID)

Training providers must verify the identities of all attendees using their Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) driver licenses or non-driver identifications (ID) upon course registration and course sign-in. Attendees should show their driver licenses or non-driver identifications (ID) to instructors when signing in. If attendees do not have either document, their identification (DMV ID) number is the link between the training record and the licensing application. As such, training providers must ensure that the DMV ID number is entered correctly in the certificate of completion. It is the training providers' responsibility to reissue the certificate of completion once they are notified that the DMV ID number is incorrect. Failure to do so will result in delays in issuing licenses. Course completion certificates shall not be issued to attendees until they provide their Department of Motor Vehicles identifications (DMV ID) to the training provider.

#### **Course Identification Numbers**

The Department of Labor has assigned the number one (1) as the course identification number to the continuing education course for the purpose of creating attendee identification numbers.

8.00

# Attendee Identification Numbers, Course Completion Certificates and Attendance Sign-In Sheet

Training providers are required to assign each attendee of an elevator continuing education training course a unique 13-digit attendee identification number. The attendee identification number is composed of specific elements that must be combined in the following order:

- Course Identification Number: The number one (1) for elevator continuing education course.
- Course Completion Date: In the format of two-digit year, two-digit month and two-digit day.
- Elevator Training Provider Identification Number (ETP #): Which is a three-digit number designated to the training provider upon application approval.
- Attendee Number: Which is a three-digit number based on the attendee's position in the attendance sheet.

**For Example:** A student who successfully completed an elevator continuing education course on August 5, 2025 from an elevator training provider designated as ETP-100 and the student is in the fifth position in the attendance sheet will have an attendee identification number: **1-25-08-05-100-005**.

The attendee identification number is required to be used on course completion certificates. Training providers must ensure every student sign in and sign out of the attendance sheet. The Department has an attendance record sheet which will be included as part of the approval package. A copy of the attendance sheet must be kept for a minimum of three (3) years and must be provided to the Department upon request.

# **Elevator License Renewal Requirements**

Training providers should be familiar with elevator licensing requirements to accurately convey this information to attendees. Elevator licensees who do not timely apply to renew their license prior to its expiration date cannot perform work on an elevator project until their licenses are renewed. To renew an elevator license, applicants must submit the following to the Department of Labor:

- A completed application package
- A copy of the certificate of completion from the continuing education course
- A non-refundable application fee

# To apply please visit MPWR, at <u>https://dol.ny.gov/mpwr</u>.

For questions regarding elevator licenses, contact the Department's License and Certificate Unit at: **(518) 457-2735**.

For questions regarding elevator continuing education course training, contact the Department's Safety Training Program at: **(518) 457-1536**.