
Contact the NYS Department of Labor with 
questions and for assistance:

Email: info.nysdol@labor.ny.gov 
Phone: 1-888-4-NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365)

To learn more, access a library of documents 
on important topics, or request a FARE 
presentation, visit: 
dol.ny.gov/fostering-access-rights-and-
equity-fare-grant.
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For up to three (3) years following the 
birth of a child, nursing mothers have the 
right to express breast milk at work during 
reasonable unpaid break time or paid break 
time/mealtime. The employer must make 
reasonable efforts to provide a private area 
where breast milk can be expressed. 

As of January 1, 2021, all private industry 
employers in NYS are required to provide Sick 
and Safe Leave to their employees at a rate 
no less than 1 hour for every 30 hours worked. 
Employees can use these accruals as sick 
leave, or as safe leave if the individual or family 
member is impacted by domestic violence, a 
sexual offense, human trafficking, stalking, etc. 
Whether the leave is paid or unpaid depends 
on the size of the employer. Documentation 
can only be required by the employer if 
the employee misses more than three (3) 
consecutive previously scheduled workdays.
The documentation only needs to support the 
need for the leave and should not reveal any 
private health or personal information.

FOSTERING 
ACCESS, RIGHTS, 
AND EQUITY 
(FARE) GRANT
The New York State (NYS) Department of 
Labor and our partners are conducting 
outreach to women workers across the state 
under the federal FARE grant. The goal of 
this outreach is to help level the playing field 
by empowering women with knowledge 
on their workplace rights and benefits. This 
information can then be shared with others 
and spread throughout our communities.

DID YOU KNOW?
The minimum wage in New York City, Long 
Island, Westchester County, and for Fast Food 
Workers (statewide) is $15.00/hour.

The minimum wage in the remainder of the state 
is $13.20/hour and will be $14.20/hour as of 
12/31/2022.

Most workers must be paid overtime (time-and-
one-half) after working 40 hours in a work week.

It is fraudulent for an employer to misclassify an 
employee as an independent contractor to avoid 
complying with rules regarding Unemployment 
Insurance, Worker’s Compensation, tax 
withholding, minimum wage, overtime, etc.  
Learn more: dol.ny.gov/independent-contractors.

You can be paid by cash or by check, but you 
must receive a paystub each time you get paid. 
The paystub should include important details 
including the number of hours you worked 
during the pay period and your wage. 

Your employer cannot charge you for breakage, 
spoilage, cash shortages, employer business 
costs, or uniform costs. 

Per the NYS Salary History Ban Law, as of 
January 6, 2020, an employer can ask for 
salary expectations on a job application but 
can no longer ask how much the applicant  
was paid in the past.	

Per the NYS Equal Pay Provision, it is illegal for  
an employer to pay a woman less than a man  
for doing the same job solely based on gender. 

All employers in NYS are required to provide 
a workplace free from sexual harassment. 
Employers must provide annual sexual 
harassment training and a written copy of  
their sexual harassment prevention policy  
to all workers.

Or your community partner:

https://dol.ny.gov/fostering-access-rights-and-equity-fare-grant
https://dol.ny.gov/fostering-access-rights-and-equity-fare-grant
https://dol.ny.gov/independent-contractors
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Comuníquese con el Departamento del Trabajo 
del Estado de Nueva York si tiene preguntas o 
necesita ayuda:
Correo electrónico: info.nysdol@labor.ny.gov 
Teléfono: 1-888-4-NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365)

¿SABÍA QUE...?
El salario mínimo en la ciudad de Nueva York, 
Long Island, el condado de Westchester y para 
trabajadores de comida rápida (en todo el estado) 
es de $15.00/hora.

El salario mínimo en el resto del estado es de 
$13.20/hora y será de $14.20/hora a partir del 31 
de diciembre de 2022.

La mayoría de los trabajadores deben recibir pago por 
horas extras (una y media veces su sueldo) después 
de trabajar 40 horas en una semana de trabajo

Un empleador comete fraude si clasifica 
erróneamente a un empleado como contratista 
independiente con el fin de evitar cumplir las reglas 
referentes al seguro de desempleo, el seguro de 
incapacidad laboral, la retención de impuestos, 
el salario mínimo, el tiempo extra, etc. Más 
información: dol.ny.gov/independent-contractors.

Le pueden pagar en efectivo o con cheque, pero 
debe recibir un recibo de nómina cada vez que le 
paguen. El recibo de nómina debe incluir detalles 
importantes sobre la cantidad de horas que trabajó 
durante el período de pago y sobre su sueldo. 

Su empleador no puede cobrarle por mermas, 
productos deteriorados, faltantes de efectivo, costos 
empresariales del empleador o costos de uniformes. 

De acuerdo con la Ley de Prohibición de Historia 
Salarial del Estado de Nueva York, a partir del 6 de 
enero de 2020 un empleador puede preguntar las 
expectativas salariales en una solicitud de empleo, 
pero ya no puede preguntar cuánto ganaba el 
solicitante en el pasado.

De acuerdo con la Disposición de Igualdad de Pagos 
del Estado de NY, es ilegal que un empleador le pague 
a una mujer menos que a un hombre por hacer el 
mismo trabajo, solamente debido a su género.

Todos los empleadores del estado de NY tienen 
la obligación de brindar un lugar de trabajo libre 
de acoso sexual. Los empleadores deben impartir 
capacitación anual sobre acoso sexual y entregar una 
copia escrita de su política de prevención del acoso 
sexual a todos los trabajadores.

Hasta por tres (3) años después del nacimiento 
de un hijo, las madres lactantes tienen derecho 
a extraerse leche materna en el trabajo durante 
descansos razonables no remunerados o en sus 
descansos remunerados y hora de comida. El 
empleador debe hacer esfuerzos razonables para 
proporcionar un espacio privado donde pueda 
hacerse la extracción de leche materna.

A partir del 1 de enero de 2021, todos los 
empleadores privados del estado de NY tienen 
la obligación de brindar permiso por enfermedad 
y seguridad a sus empleados a razón de 1 hora 
por cada 30 horas trabajadas, como mínimo. Los 
empleados pueden usar el tiempo acumulado 
como permiso por enfermedad o como permiso 
por seguridad si la persona o uno de sus familiares 
sufre de violencia doméstica, un delito sexual, trata 
de personas, acecho, etc. El permiso puede ser 
remunerado o no remunerado, dependiendo del 
tamaño del empleador. El empleador solamente 
puede pedir documentos si el empleado falta 
a más de tres (3) días de trabajo previamente 
programados consecutivos. La documentación 
solamente necesita sustentar la necesidad del 
permiso y no debe revelar información médica 
privada ni información personal.

SUBSIDIO PARA EL 
FOMENTO DEL ACCESO, 
LOS DERECHOS Y LA 
EQUIDAD (FARE)

El Departamento de Trabajo del Estado 
de Nueva York y nuestros socios estamos 
llevando a cabo actividades de acercamiento 
a trabajadoras de todo el estado en 
referencia al subsidio federal FARE. El 
objetivo de este acercamiento es ayudar 
a generar un ambiente más equitativo al 
empoderar a las mujeres con conocimientos 
sobre sus derechos y beneficios en el 
trabajo. Después pueden transmitir esa 
información a otras personas y propagarla 
en nuestras comunidades.

O con sus socios en la comunidad:

Para obtener más información, consultar 
una biblioteca de documentos sobre temas 
importantes o solicitar una presentación de 
FARE, visite: dol.ny.gov/fostering-access-rights-
and-equity-fare-grant.

https://dol.ny.gov/independent-contractors
https://dol.ny.gov/fostering-access-rights-and-equity-fare-grant
https://dol.ny.gov/fostering-access-rights-and-equity-fare-grant

