
WHAT IS THE FARE GRANT?
The New York State Department of Labor (NYS DOL) 
received a grant from the U.S. Department of Labor’s 
Women’s Bureau to conduct outreach and presentations 
to women focused on employment rights and benefits. We 
aim to reach marginalized and underrepresented women 
outside of New York City, especially in rural areas, through 
in-person and virtual presentations and events. Our goal is 
to spread education and knowledge to empower women 
across the state, in turn, helping women to become a focal 
point for rights and benefits in their own communities.

HOW DO I REQUEST A PRESENTATION?
Contact the NYSDOL by email at info.nysdol@labor.ny.gov  
or call 888-4-NYSDOL (888-469-7365).

TOPICS OF FOCUS
MINIMUM WAGE
All New York State (NYS) workers are entitled to receive 
at least an hourly minimum wage rate. 

 

MINIMUM WAGE FOR TIPPED WORKERS
NYS law allows employers in most industries to satisfy 
the minimum wage by combining a wage paid by 
the employer with tips the employee receives from 
customers. Only hospitality industry employers are 
allowed to take tip credits from minimum wage. Tips-only 
jobs are prohibited.

 

OVERTIME

Most workers must receive overtime pay after working 
40 hours in a work week. Overtime pay is 1½ times your 
regular pay. For tipped workers, employers must pay 
overtime hours worked at 1½ the minimum wage rate, less 
the applicable tip credit. Agricultural workers currently 
earn overtime after working 56 hours in a work week and 
for any hours worked on their designated day of rest. 

MISCLASSIFICATION: EMPLOYEE OR INDEPENDENT 
CONTRACTOR?
To determine whether a worker should be classified as 
an employee or an independent contractor, the nature of 
the employer-employee relationship must be considered. 
Independent contractors are in business for themselves 
and offer their services to the general public.

An independent contractor performs their work free from:

•	 Supervision
•	 Direction
•	 Control

Conversely, an employer-employee relationship may exist 
if the employer:

•	 Chooses when, where, and how the worker  
performs services

•	 Provides facilities, equipment, tools, and supplies
•	 Directly supervises the work
•	 Sets the work hours and rate of pay, etc.
Learn more here: dol.ny.gov/independent-contractors

When an employer purposefully misclassifies an 
employee as an independent contractor, it is fraud. 
Some employers use this tactic to avoid compliance with 
Unemployment Insurance, Workers’ Compensation, Social 
Security, tax withholding, and minimum wage. Report 
fraud to NYS DOL online at dol.ny.gov/report-fraud or call 
the 24-hour fraud hotline: 866-435-1499.

  

FOSTERING ACCESS, RIGHTS, AND EQUITY 
(FARE) GRANT

LOCATION MINIMUM WAGE as of 1/1/2024

New York City, Long Island and 
Westchester County $16.00/hour $18.55/hour  

Home Care Aides

Remainder of New York State $15.00/hour $17.55/hour 
Home Care Aides

LOCATION SERVICE EMPLOYEES 
as of 1/1/2024

FOOD SERVICE 
WORKERS  

as of 1/1/2024

New York City, Long Island 
and Westchester County

$13.35 Wage
$2.65 Tip Credit

$10.65 Wage
$5.35 Tip Credit

Remainder of  
New York State

$12.50 Wage
$2.50 Tip Credit

$10.00 Wage
$5.00 Tip Credit

https://dol.ny.gov/independent-contractors
https://dol.ny.gov/report-fraud


The New York State Department of Labor is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.  
Auxiliary aides and services are available upon request and free of charge to individuals with disabilities TTY/TDD 711 or 1-800-662-1220 (English) / 1-877-662-4886.

The FARE  Grant is funded by a federal grant of $350,000, which constitutes 100% of its budget. 0%, or $0 is funded by state or non-governmental sources.P22 (1/24)

KNOW YOUR RIGHTS AS A WOMAN 
WORKER IN NYS
PAY TRANSPARENCY LAW
Effective September 17, 2023, NYS employers with four (4) 
or more employees must include a pay rate or pay range 
in their job postings for all jobs to be performed, at least 
in part, in the state of New York. The job posting must 
advertise the pay rate or pay range the employer believes, 
in good faith, to be true at the time of posting and should 
give the prospective applicant a legitimate idea of the 
expected pay. 

SALARY HISTORY BAN LAW
As of January 6, 2020, NYS employers can no longer 
ask job applicants for their salary and benefit history, 
and this information cannot be used as a factor in 
determining whether to interview or offer employment 
to an applicant. Pay expectations can be discussed, and 
individuals may choose to reveal their salary history for 
purposes of negotiation. 

PAY NOTICES
When you are hired, your employer must give you a pay 
notice which contains certain important information, such as: 

•	 How much and how often you will be paid 
•	 The regular payday, and 
•	 Any deductions from your pay

PAY EQUITY
It is illegal for an employer to pay a woman less than a man 
for doing the same job solely on the basis of gender. Pay 
differences can be based on seniority, merit, or a bona fide 
factor other than gender, such as education or experience.

PAYSTUBS AND DEDUCTIONS
You must be paid for all hours worked. You can be paid 
by cash or check, but you must be given a detailed 
paystub each time you are paid. 

An employer cannot charge you for breakage, spoilage, 
damage, uniform costs and maintenance, employer 
business costs, or cash shortages.

LANGUAGE ACCESS
NYS agencies that provide direct public services are 
required to offer free interpretation and translation 
services to members of the public for vital forms and 
instructions. Interpretation services are provided in more 
than 200 languages, including sign language. At the NYS 
DOL, written vital documents are translated in the state’s 
top 16 languages. 

EXPRESSING BREAST MILK IN THE WORKPLACE
For up to three (3) years following childbirth, nursing 
mothers have the right to take reasonable unpaid break 
time or to use paid break time or mealtime each day, 
to express breast milk at work. All NYS employers are 
required to provide a private pumping space close to the 
employee’s work area which includes a seat, table or other 
flat surface, lighting, an electrical outlet (if the workplace 
is supplied with electricity), and nearby access to clean, 
running water. The space provided cannot be a bathroom.

SEXUAL HARASSMENT IN THE WORKPLACE
All employers in NYS are responsible for providing 
a workplace free from sexual harassment. By law, 
employers must have a sexual harassment prevention 
policy in place and provide a copy to all employees as 
well as annual training.

NYS PAID SICK AND SAFE LEAVE
Private sector workers in NYS are covered under the 
Paid Sick and Safe Leave law. At a minimum, employees 
accrue one (1) hour of sick and safe leave for every 
30 hours worked. Whether the leave is paid or unpaid 
depends on the size of the employer.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE
If you worked in NYS and lose your job through no fault 
of your own, you may be eligible for Unemployment 
Insurance. You must have enough earnings to establish 
a claim; be ready, willing, and able to work; actively 
searching for work; and documenting your work search 
efforts. Apply online at dol.ny.gov or call 888-209-8124.

HOW DO I FILE A COMPLAINT?
The Division of Labor Standards helps to resolve violations 
of NYS labor law. It is illegal for an employer to discharge, 
penalize, or in any manner discriminate or retaliate against 
an employee for making a complaint about a possible 
labor law violation or exercising any rights protected under 
NYS labor law. 

Submit form LS223 to file a complaint. Contact Labor 
Standards for more information: 888-52-LABOR (888-525-
2267) or LSAsk@labor.ny.gov. 

For more information, please visit  
dol.ny.gov/fostering-access-rights-and-equity-fare-grant

https://dol.ny.gov/
https://dol.ny.gov/fostering-access-rights-and-equity-fare-grant

