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Division of Safety and Health  
License & Certification Unit 

Harriman State Office Campus  
Building 12, Room 161A 

Albany, NY 12240 
 
 

Instructions on Applying for an Asbestos Handling License 
 
 

Article 30 of the New York State Labor Law and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder, provides that 

it shall be unlawful for any contractor to engage in an asbestos project unless such contractor has a valid 

Asbestos Handling License issued by the Commissioner of Labor. 
 

General Information 

 
Who needs a license? Any contractor engaged in an asbestos project. 

 
All firms, corporations or other business entities providing management 

planning, project design, monitoring, inspection and/or air monitoring services 

shall obtain an Asbestos Handling License. (Additionally, management 

planners, project designers, and project monitors shall obtain an asbestos 

certificate appropriate to the task performed by such person.) 

 
Note: An in-plant operation is subject to all the licensing requirements 

established by the code. 

 
Application Procedure 

 

 
 

How to obtain an An asbestos license application packet may be obtained from the NYS 

application packet: Department of Labor, License and Certificate Unit, Building 12, Room 161A, 

Harriman State Office Campus, Albany, New York 12240; telephone (518) 

457-2735. In addition, application packets may be obtained from 

www.labor.ny.gov 
 

 
Material to be Submitted 

 
Application An original application form with the Applicant Statement signed in ink. 

 
Fee A non-refundable application fee of $500 for a first-time license or $300.00 for a 

renewal license in the form of a check or money order made payable to the 

Commissioner of Labor. 

 
Training A copy of the Supervisor Certificate issued by New York State to the 

contractor, or a supervisor designated to act as the contractor’s agent, must 

be submitted as evidence of successful completion of an approved asbestos 

safety program. 

 
For specific information on asbestos training programs, contact: 

New York State Department of Health 

Center for Environmental Health Asbestos Safety Training Program 

Flanigan Square, Room 230 

547 River Street 

Troy, NY 12180 
(518) 402-7940 

http://www.labor.ny.gov/
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Insurance 
 

Only one of these forms for Workers’ 

Compensation is allowed 

A )    CE 200 - Certification of Attestation of 

Exemption. 

B) C 105.2 - Certificate of Workers’ 

Compensation Insurance 

C) U 26.3 - State Insurance Fund’s version 

of C-105.2 

D) SI 12 - Certificate of Workers’ 

Compensation Self-Insurance 

E) GSI 12 - Certificate of Group Workers’ 

Compensation Self-Insurance 

F) GSI 105.2 - Certificate of Participation in 

Workers’ Compensation Group Self- 

Insurance 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Submittal Information 

 

 
An “Application for Certificate of Workers’ Compensation Insurance” must 

be filed as proof of acceptable Workers’ Compensation Insurance in New 

York State. The License and Certificate Unit at the address shown below 

should be entered in the ‘to be filed with’ and ‘change or cancellation’ 

sections of the form. Such certification may be obtained from the Workers’ 

Compensation Board district office nearest to you. 

 
Disability Insurance is required in New York State if the applicant is a 

“covered employer,” i.e., if one or more of the applicant’s employees is 

employed in New York State for at least 30 days in any calendar year; the 

30 days need not be consecutive. An applicant who is a covered employer 

must submit a copy of his/her Certificate of Disability Insurance (DB 120.1) 

or DB 155 - Certificate of Disability Benefit Self Insurance. An applicant 

who is not a covered employer must submit a CE 200 - Certification of 

Attestation of Exemption issued by the Workers’ Compensation Board. 

 
Further information on insurance may be obtained by contacting the 

Workers’ Compensation Board. 

All application material should be mailed to: 

New York State Department of Labor 

License and Certificate Unit 
Harriman State Office Campus 

Building 12, Room 161A 

Albany, NY 12240 
 
 
License Information 

 

Expiration 

Renewal 

 
Updating Information 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Replacement License 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A license is valid for one year from its date of issuance. 

 
A license renewal application will be mailed to you approximately 60 days 

prior to the expiration of your current license. 

 
Any change to the information contained in the license application must be 

reported in writing within 30 calendar days of the effective date of the 

change. Such changes include (but are not limited to) changes in address, 

principals, ownership, designated supervisor, insurance coverage, etc. The 

updated license information should be submitted to the License and 

Certificate Unit at the address shown above. 

 
If an Asbestos License is lost or stolen prior to its expiration, the individual 

to whom it was issued may request a replacement. Submit the following to 

the address listed above: 

 
• a notarized letter which includes an explanation of the loss, and a 

statement that the individual understands that submittal of false 

information shall subject the individual to penalties or other legal 

action. 

 
• a non-refundable fee of $300 by check or money order, made payable to 

the Commissioner of Labor. 


