
 

Facts for Domestic Workers 
 
 
 
Who is a domestic worker under the Domestic Workers Bill of Rights? 

 
You are a domestic worker if you work in another person’s home: 

• Caring for children or an elderly person 
• Keeping house (cleaning and cooking) 
• Doing other domestic jobs in the home (gardening or repairs) 

 
If you work directly for another person – caring for their children or elderly family 
member, for example – this law applies to you. 

 
However, if you do occasional baby-sitting or yard work for a person at their home, for 
example, this law does not apply to you. 

 
 
What if I work for an agency? 

 
If you work for an agency, the laws that apply to you are different from those that apply 
to someone who works directly for a family. 

 
If you perform companionship services – for example, if you take care of an elderly 
person, and do not perform additional work such as cleaning services – you are not 
subject to the overtime and day of rest rules under the new law. Other agency 
employees who perform domestic work are subject to those provisions. 

 
If you work for an agency and perform companionship services, you cannot bring suit 
for harassment against the family for which you work. But if the agency has at least four 
employees, and you are fired or subject to other negative change in your terms of work 
by the agency because of your race, creed, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, 
disability, age, marital status, military status, arrest or conviction record, genetic 
characteristics, or status as a victim of domestic violence, you can bring a claim against 
that agency under the Human Rights Law. 

 
As an employee of an agency, you may be entitled to the other employment benefits 
described in this document, such as unemployment insurance and workers’ 
compensation. 

 
If you work for an agency and are represented by a union, you may wish to speak to 
your union representative to get further information. Otherwise, you may wish to 
contact the appropriate agency (contact information can be found under each benefit 
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area in this document) to better understand whether or not you are entitled to particular 
benefits. 

 
 
What if I’m not a citizen of the United States? 

 
The Domestic Workers Bill of Rights and New York State Labor Laws protect you, 
whether you are: 
 A citizen of the United States 
 A legal permanent resident 
 An immigrant with other lawful status (such as temporary protected status) 
 An undocumented worker 

 
These laws cover all workers. Their immigration status does not matter. However, 
workers must have work authorization in order to receive unemployment insurance. 

 
 
Protections under Labor Law 

 
Under New York State labor law, including the Domestic Workers Bill of Rights, your 
employer must: 
 Pay you at least the minimum wage for your region. See the minimum wage 

schedule at www.labor.ny.gov/minimumwage. 
 Pay you overtime at 1 1/2 times your basic rate of pay after 40 hours of work in a 

calendar week. If you live in their home, they must pay you overtime after 44 
hours of work in a week 

 Give you one day (24 hours) of rest per week – or, if you agree to work on that 
day, you must be paid at an overtime rate 

 Give you at least three paid days off after one year of work for the same 
employer 

 Pay you each week 
 Not deduct money from your pay without your written permission, except for 

deductions authorized by law for your benefit, such as: 
o Income tax withholding 
o Social Security 
o Medicare 
o Health insurance and 
o Automatic savings plans 

 Not take money from your wages for breakage or other such reasons. 
 Give you written notification of all deductions, whether you are paid in cash, by 

check, or by direct deposit. 
 Keep detailed payroll and time records of: 

o The hours you work 
o Your wages and 
o Any deductions from those wages 

http://www.labor.ny.gov/minimumwage
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If your employer(s) give(s) you meals and/or a place to live, they may get a specific 
credit toward the minimum wage they pay to you. 

 
If you complain to your employer or the Labor Department about a violation of these 
laws, your employer cannot retaliate against you. To file a complaint with the Labor 
Department, call 1-888-52-LABOR. 

 
For a list of Labor Department district offices go to the agency web site. 

 

Also see more information about the Labor Department’s Division of Labor Standards. 
 
 

Insurance Coverage 
 
You may also be covered by unemployment insurance (UI). If your employer pays a 
total of $500 or more in quarterly wages, he or she must register and pay the 
contributions for UI coverage for you. It does not come out of your pay. This means that 
if you lose your job through no fault of your own, you may be eligible to receive 
payments to replace part of your income while you look for a new job. To find out more 
about UI and what it means to you, go to the Department of Labor’s Unemployment 
Insurance web page. Please note that unlike the other legal protections described here, 
UI is only available to workers who are legally authorized to work in the United States. 

 
If you work at least 40 hours per week for a single employer or live in the residence, 
your employer must also provide you with Workers’ Compensation insurance. This 
insurance pays your medical    expenses if you are hurt on the job. It also will replace 
some of your lost income. Workers Compensation is available to workers regardless of 
immigration status. 

 
If you work over 20 hours a week, you are also entitled to statutory disability and paid 
family leave benefits. When you cannot work because you are injured or sick (defined 
to include pregnancy) as a result of something that does not occur in the course of your 
work, your employer must have an insurance policy that pays you up to $170 per week 
for up to 26 weeks, if you cannot return to work during that period and are not receiving 
other compensation from your employer. This policy also provides eligible employees 
job-protected time off to bond with a newly born, adopted or fostered child, care for a 
family member with a serious health condition, or assist loved ones when a spouse, 
domestic partner, child or parent is deployed abroad on active military service. The 
employer may take payroll deductions to offset the cost of this policy. 

 

https://dol.ny.gov/location/contact-division-labor-standards
https://dol.ny.gov/labor-standards-0
https://dol.ny.gov/unemployment/unemployment-insurance-assistance
https://dol.ny.gov/unemployment/unemployment-insurance-assistance
http://www.wcb.ny.gov/
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  Protection under Human Rights Law 
 
The Domestic Workers Bill of Rights now protects you from certain forms of 
harassment. Your employer cannot condition employment decisions on your submission 
to unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, or other verbal or physical 
conduct of a sexual nature; or engage in unwanted sexual advances or other sexual 
conduct that creates a hostile environment. Your employer also cannot harass you 
based on gender, race, religion or national origin; or retaliate against you if you 
complain about harassment. If you experience these kinds of harassment or retaliation, 
you can file a complaint with the New York State Division of Human Rights. Find out 
how at the Division for Human Rights website. 

 
 

Health Insurance 
 
Your employer is not required to provide health insurance for you or your family under 
the law. However, you can find out about low-cost health insurance for you and your 
family on the New York State Department of Health website. 

 
 

Business Services for Domestic Workers 
 
If you are in business for yourself, or if you want to start a business, the Empire State 
Development Corporation may help you: 

• The Division of Small Business can help you start your business, prepare 
business plans, market your products and services, and manage your 
business 

• The Division of Minority and Women-Owned Businesses can help you develop 
your business and become certified as a Minority and Women’s Business 
Enterprise (MWBE) 

 
 
Income Tax Considerations for Domestic Workers 

 
It is your responsibility to file any state and federal income tax returns that may be due 
each year. This may result in you receiving a tax refund from your federal taxes paid 
because of the Earned Income Tax Credit. 

 

The Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) is a federal income tax credit for working people 
and families who have low to moderate incomes. It was passed by Congress in 1975 in 
part to offset the burden of social security taxes on low- to moderate-income workers 
and also to provide an incentive to work. When the EITC is more than the amount of 
taxes you owe, you will receive a tax refund if you claim and qualify for the credit. 

https://dhr.ny.gov/
https://www.health.ny.gov/
https://esd.ny.gov/
https://esd.ny.gov/
https://esd.ny.gov/doing-business-ny/small-business-hub
https://esd.ny.gov/doing-business-ny/mwbe
https://www.irs.gov/credits-deductions/individuals/earned-income-tax-credit-eitc
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To qualify, you must meet certain requirements and file a tax return, even if you are not 
required to file one. To find out more about the EITC and if you qualify, go to the IRS 
website. 

 

New York State and New York City also offer an Earned Income Tax Credit to taxpayers 
who qualify for the federal credit. The State and City credits are also refundable. More 
information on these credits is available on the NYS Department of Taxation and 
Finance web site. 

https://www.irs.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/
https://www.tax.ny.gov/
https://www.tax.ny.gov/
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NYS Department of Labor Division of Labor Standards 
 
The New York State Department of Labor’s Division of Labor Standards enforces wage 
and hour laws that affect domestic workers. 

 
Domestic workers are covered for minimum wage and overtime wages. See the 
minimum wage schedule at www.labor.ny.gov/minimumwage. You and your employer 
can agree on a higher rate of pay. If you don’t live in your employer’s home, you are 
entitled to overtime pay of 1 ½ times your regular rate of pay when you work more than 
40 hours a week. If you live in your employer’s home, they must pay you overtime after 
44 hours of work. 

 
When you are hired, your employer must give you a written notice of: 
 The rate of pay you both have agreed on 
 Your overtime rate of pay 
 The regular payday 

 
Employers must pay domestic workers each week. They can pay you in cash or by 
check. 

 
Each week you must get a written statement that shows: 
 The number of hours you worked 
 Your gross pay (total before any deductions) 
 Any deductions for taxes or other money taken out of your pay 

 
You must agree in writing to any deductions from your pay. An employer only can take 
deductions authorized by law. The employer cannot charge you for breakage, supplies, 
and equipment. Also, your employer must keep an accurate record of your daily and 
weekly hours. They must provide this record to the Department of Labor if we ask for it. 

 
Domestic workers are entitled to a day of rest (24 hours) in each calendar week. You 
and your employer need to agree on what day of the week you can take off. The day 
you take off may be the same as your day of worship, and the law encourages 
employers to allow this where possible, but it is not required. You can agree to work on 
your day off, but if you do, the employer has to pay you overtime for any hours worked 
that day. 

 
If you work a shift of more than 6 hours on any day, you are entitled to at least 30 
minutes free from duty for a meal period. The employer does not have to pay you for 
this time. If your employer gives you short (10 to 15 minute) breaks, these are 
considered time worked and cannot be deducted from your pay. 

 
After working more than one year for the same employer, you are entitled to three paid 
days of rest. Some employers give their workers other benefits such as more than three 
paid vacation days, sick leave, or health insurance. If your employer does give you 

http://www.labor.ny.gov/minimumwage
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these benefits, he or she must put the benefit plan (including vacation days) in writing 
and give you a copy. 

 
If you believe that your employer has not been following the law, you can contact the 
offices of the Division of Labor standards. You may write, call or visit. 

 
Our address is: 
NYS Department of Labor 
Division of Labor Standards 
W. Averell Harriman State Office Campus 
Building 12 
Albany, NY 12240 

 
Our phone number for Labor Standards questions is: 1-888-52-LABOR 

 
Our email is: labor.sm.ls.ask@labor.ny.gov 

 

To find a local office: 
Visit the Department of Labor website. 

mailto:labor.sm.ls.ask@labor.ny.gov
https://dol.ny.gov/location/contact-division-labor-standards
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New York State Human Rights Law 
Employment Rights of Domestic Workers 

 
As of November 29, 2010, the New York State Human Rights Law protects domestic 
workers from certain forms of harassment based on gender, race, religion or national 
origin. Also, an employer cannot retaliate against a worker if they complain about 
harassment. Laws of 2010, Chapter 481. 

 
A person is considered a domestic worker if they work in another person’s home to care 
for a child; serve as a companion for a sick, convalescing or elderly person; do 
housekeeping; or perform any other domestic service purpose. N.Y. Labor Law § 2.16 
and Human Rights Law (N.Y. Exec. Law) § 296-b. 

 
For other kinds of work, the Human Rights Law applies only to employers who have four 
or more employees. However, the Human Rights Law has special provisions barring 
harassment against domestic workers that apply to all employers of domestic workers, 
regardless of the number of employees they have. 

 
 
What kinds of harassment are against the law? 

 
The law bars several kinds of harassment against domestic workers, both men and 
women. Unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, or other verbal or 
physical conduct of a sexual nature can be the subject of a claim under the Human 
Rights Law if any of the following occurs: 

 
• Either explicitly or implicitly, your employer has made giving in to sexual 

advances or requests for sexual favors a term or condition of you keeping 
your job. You believe that if you object, you will be fired, and the only way to 
escape the harassment is to quit your job 

• Your employer bases employment decisions, such as hours of work or how 
much you are paid, on whether or not you submit to the employer’s sexual 
advances or other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature 

• The unwanted advances or other sexual conduct, either purposely or in 
effect, interfere with your work performance by creating an intimidating, 
hostile, or offensive working environment 

 
Examples of harassment forbidden by the new law can include: 

 
• Pressure to engage in unwelcome sexual activities 
• Unnecessary or inappropriate physical contact 
• Sexual assault 
• A pattern of sexual comments or questions or the creation of an atmosphere 

that taken together, constitutes harassment or abuse 
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An action taken based on an employee’s race, gender, religion or national origin is also 
considered harassment under the law if it is intended to interfere with another person’s 
work performance by creating an intimidating, hostile or offensive work environment. 

 
Harassment of a domestic worker that constitutes a hostile work environment under the 
Human Rights Law can include offensive or humiliating comments or jokes about an 
employee’s gender, race, religion or national origin. 

 
 
Retaliation for complaining about harassment 

 
Under the New York State Human Rights Law, an employer cannot retaliate against a 
worker who complains about harassment in the workplace, or who files a complaint with 
the NYS Division of Human Rights. This means that an employer cannot fire an 
employee who complains about harassment, nor can the employer take any other 
negative actions against the employee because the employee filed a complaint. 

 
 
What Human Rights Law does not cover 

 
The Human Rights Law does not cover domestic workers who: 

 
• Work on only a casual basis, such as those who occasionally babysit or do 

other household services for a limited amount of time 
• Work for a person they are related to by blood, marriage or adoption 

 

How to file a complaint 
 
If you think that you have been: 

• sexually harassed by an employer, 
• harassed because of your gender, race, religion or national origin, or 
• retaliated against because you complained about harassment, 

you can file a complaint with the New York State Division of Human Rights. 
 
You must file your complaint with the NYS Division of Human Rights within one year of 
when the harassment occurred. The harassment must have occurred on or after 
November 29, 2010 in order for you to be able to file a complaint. 

 
You can also file a complaint in state court within three years of when the alleged 
harassment occurred. You will probably need an attorney to help with this. 

 
The Division of Human Rights has regional offices throughout the state. You can file a 
complaint at the regional office nearest to your home or place of employment. For more 
information, please go to the web site of the NYS Division of Human Rights. 

https://dhr.ny.gov/
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New York State Department of Health Programs 
 
The programs most likely to be of help to you are the New York State of Health 
Marketplace and Medicaid. 

 

Medicaid is a program for those who cannot afford to pay for medical care. It provides 
broad coverage, including routine health care, hospitalizations, prescriptions and other 
services. Go to the Department of Health Medicaid web page for more information. 

https://nystateofhealth.ny.gov/
https://nystateofhealth.ny.gov/
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/
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Entrepreneurial Assistance Program 
of the Empire State Development Corporation 

 
The Entrepreneurial Assistance Program is operated by the Empire State Development 
Corporation. It has 24 centers around New York State that help people (mostly low- 
income, minority or women) start and run a small business. Each Center provides 
business owners with a 60-hour course on the basics of starting and operating a small 
business. The Centers also provide one-on-one counseling about a variety of business 
issues, including: 

• business plan development 
• marketing 
• financial management 
• financing 

 
In the last 3 years alone, Entrepreneurial Assistance Program Centers have helped: 

• Launch 427 businesses 
• Increase the sales of 733 businesses by $31.6 million 
• Create 895 new jobs 
• Businesses get loans totaling $13.6 million 

 
For more information go to the Empire State Development Corporation Entrepreneurial 
Assistance Program web page. 

 
 

Division of Minority and Women’s Business Enterprise Development 
 
The Division of Minority and Women’s Business Enterprise Development: 

• Reviews applications from businesses seeking state certification as a Minority 
and Women’s Business Enterprise (MWBE) 

• Maintains a directory of certified MWBEs 
• Helps MWBEs develop their businesses through education and outreach 

 
For more information go to the Empire State Development Corporation Division of 
Minority & Women Business Development web page. 

https://esd.ny.gov/entrepreneurship-assistance-centers
https://esd.ny.gov/entrepreneurship-assistance-centers
https://esd.ny.gov/doing-business-ny/mwbe
https://esd.ny.gov/doing-business-ny/mwbe
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