Division of Labor Standards Permit and Certificate Unit Harriman State Office Campus Building 12, Room 185B Albany, NY 12226 (518) 457-1942



## **Employment Agency Information for New Applicants**

Enclosed is the application for an Employment Agency License. Article 11 of the General Business Law of the State of New York requires that "no person shall open, keep, maintain, own, operate or carry on any employment agency unless such person shall have first procured a license." To apply for the license:

- Answer all the items in full on both the front and back of the Employment Agency License application.
- Mail to the address above:
  - o the completed application,
  - o all the required items listed on the back of the application, and
  - o the items noted below

**Note:** Missing items (forms, fee, bond) could result in the application being returned to you.

## **Application Requirements**

**Fingerprints:** As part of the application process, all applicants must have their fingerprints scanned at a Morpho Trust USA location in New York State.

See the enclosed "fingerprinting" sheet for instructions, including fees. You must submit the fingerprints for each principal of the agency (and the agency placement manager, if not a principal of the agency).

**License fee:** You must include a certified check or money order for the appropriate license fee with your application. Make it payable to the "Commissioner of Labor." Valid forms of payment are: bank money orders, postal money orders, Western Union money orders, and Travelers Express money orders. The Department of Labor will **not** accept any personal checks.

All licenses are issued for two years. They all expire on May 1 of **each even-numbered year**. The license fee is based on the number of anticipated placement employees and is prorated depending upon the length of time the license will be in force, i.e.:

| Number of placement | License length of time |                      |                   |
|---------------------|------------------------|----------------------|-------------------|
| employees           | Less than 6 months     | 6 months or more but | 1 year or more up |
|                     |                        | less than 1 year     | to 2 years        |
| 4 or less           | \$125.00               | \$250.00             | \$500.00          |
| 5 or more           | \$175.00               | \$300.00             | \$700.00          |

If your application is withdrawn or the license is denied, 50% of the license fee is refundable.

**Bonds:** You must include a surety bond for \$5,000 with your application. Make it payable to "the People of the State of New York." If the agency will recruit domestic or household employees from outside the continental United States or conduct a modeling agency, the bond must be for \$10,000.

Please see Sections 177 and 178 of the Employment Agency Law for more information.

**Child Support:** You must include an Appendix to a License Applicant – The Child Support Obligations Form, GO 1, with your application. No Employment Agency License or Agency Manager's Permit will be issued until a completed Child Support Obligations form is received from the individual owner or each partner. If the applicant is a partnership, any one of the partners may file this statement. Corporations are not required to file this statement.

Section 3-503 of the General Obligations Law requires that applicants for a license or permit necessary to practice any occupation, employment, trade, vocation, business, or profession file a statement concerning his or her obligation to pay child support.

**Statements of Character:** You must include 2 statements of character for each applicant with your application. See LS 361, Statement of Character form.

**Site Inspection:** Before a license can be issued, the agency premises must be inspected to assure that it meets the requirements of the law. Please see Section 174.1 and 174.4 of the Employment Agency Law for more information.

**Law:** A copy of the Employment Agency Law is enclosed for your guidance. You should familiarize yourself with the provisions of the law.

LS 355.3 (04/24)