

In 2020, the Construction Industry Fatality Registry was created by New York State legislation. This law requires the New York State Department of Labor (NYS DOL) to maintain a public registry of workplace fatalities in the construction industry based on reports it receives from county coroners, medical examiners, and other authorized officials whose role is to register deaths. This guide includes important information for these reporting officials.

WHAT AM I REQUIRED TO REPORT?

When determining the cause and manner of a fatality, every county coroner, medical examiner, or other authorized official whose role is to register deaths in New York State must determine whether the death was the result of a work-related fatal injury in the workplace. All such workplace fatalities in the construction industry must be reported to NYS DOL.

WHEN MUST I FILE A REPORT WITH NYS DOL?

Report deaths determined to be the result of a work-related fatal injury to NYS DOL within 72 hours of the determination of death.

WHAT SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE REPORT FILED WITH NYS DOL?

County coroners, medical examiners, and other authorized officials whose role is to register deaths should include all of the following information in their reports:

- · Name of the worker
- · Age of the worker
- · Cause of death
- · Manner of death
- · Location of death

- · Name of the contractor
- · Business address of the contractor
- Name of the official or medical personnel making the declaration of death
- Name of the person(s) charged with making the determination of the cause and manner of death
- Contact information for the office making the report, including: contact information for the person(s) making the declaration of death, the person(s) determining the cause of death, and the person(s) determining the manner of death
- Additional Documents Requested:
 - Law enforcement agency report[s]
 - EMT and hospital report[s]
 - Any reports from MLI medical legal investigators or ME/Coroner field staff, toxicology, histology, and other scientific testing results

HOW DO I FILE A REPORT WITH NYS DOL?

Report fatalities directly to NYS DOL at: construction.fatalities@labor.ny.gov

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER I FILE A REPORT?

After filing the report within 72 hours of determination of death, no more is needed from the coroner, medical examiner, or other reporting official. NYS DOL will reach out if additional information is needed.

For more information about the Construction Industry Fatality Registry, including an educational video, please visit the registry's webpage at: on.ny.gov/constructionregistry