Division of Safety and Health Safety Training Program Harriman State Office Campus Building 12, Room 154 Albany NY 12240 (518) 457-2735

## **WE ARE YOUR DOL**



<u>www.labor.ny.gov</u> license&certifcate@labor.ny.gov

# Application for Approval or Revision of a Mold Training Course

Use this form to apply for approval as a New York State Mold Training Provider. You may also use this form to request approval for changes to previously approved courses. (Article 32, Section 932 of the New York State Labor Law)

You must provide personal information to complete this form. The authority to collect this information is found in the New York State (NYS) Labor Law. This information will be maintained and used to process the application you are filing with the Safety Training Program. Failure to provide this information may result in our inability to process your application.

Please see pages 2 through 4 for how to submit your application, fees and required documents.

## **Business Applicant's Information**

walling address:	
City:	State: Zip:
Phone number:	Fax number:
Email:	Website:
Training Director name:	
nat you are applying for? Check one:	
Approval as a new. New York State	e Mold Training Provider (\$500.00 fee per course)
¬ ···	
Approval for revisions to the rechnic	cal contents of a previously approved course (\$100 00 fee per course
Mold Training Provider number (M	cal contents of a previously approved course (\$100.00 fee per course IP #):
• •	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Mold Training Provider number (M7 urse Information	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Mold Training Provider number (M7 urse Information	TP#): d and how much you are charging your students. The Department of
Mold Training Provider number (M7  urse Information  Indicate the training course(s) submitted	TP#): d and how much you are charging your students. The Department of
Mold Training Provider number (MT urse Information Indicate the training course(s) submitted Labor will not distribute this information.	TP#): d and how much you are charging your students. The Department of
Mold Training Provider number (MTurse Information Indicate the training course(s) submitted Labor will not distribute this information.  Initial Assessor	d and how much you are charging your students. The Department of  Course registration fee per student: \$

SH 121 (07/19) Page 1 of 4

#### Supplements to the Application

To be completed by all applicants. Attach evidence that shows if you are one or more of the following:
☐ New York State Department of Health approved asbestos training provider.
Registered New York State Labor Apprenticeship Program.
Educational or school chartered, licensed or registered by New York State Education Department.
None of the above. Note: Participation in any of these options is not required to be considered for this application.

#### **Acknowledgement**

This statement must be signed by the applicant or the applicant's authorized representative.

- I swear the information on this form is correct to the best of my knowledge.
- I am aware there are penalties for making false statements.
- I understand that this application is subject to verification
  - o I agree to provide any additional documentation as needed.
- I understand outside sources may be contacted to verify information contained in this application. I give permission to the outside sources for the disclosure of any information needed to process this application.
- I swear that the training facilities and equipment are adequate to accommodate the students' needs and hands-on demonstrations.
- I swear that I will comply with the requirements of Article 32 of the New York State Labor

Applicant signature:	Date:
Print name:	Title:

#### To submit this application

- Please complete and sign this form with black ink. Please type or print clearly.
- You must include with your application:
  - The non-refundable, application fee:
    - New: \$500.00 for each class room based course application.
    - New: \$500.00 for each on-line based course application.

Note: the fee is \$1,000 if both class room based and on-line based courses are applied for.

- Revision: \$100.00 for each application to revise the technical content of a course.
- Make checks or money orders payable to the 'Commissioner of Labor.' Do not send cash.

#### And

- Include all required documents. See pages 3 and 4 for checklists of required documents:
  - New applicants: complete Sections 1 and 2.
  - Current, approved New York State Mold Training applicants: complete Section 2 only.
- Mail the original, signed application, fees and documents to the New York State Department of Labor, Division of Safety and Health, Safety Training Program, Harriman State Office Campus, Building 12, Room 154, Albany, NY 12240.
- Keep a copy for your records.

#### Approval/Disapproval

If your application is approved, we will send you an approval letter and an Approved Mold Training Provider number.

If your application disapproved, we will send you a letter describing the reasons for the disapproval. You may reapply at any time.

We may request additional information.

Depending on the extent of the deficiencies a new application and fee may be required.

For more information visit www.labor.ny.gov/mold.

## **Section 1 - Required Documentation from New Applicants**

This section summarizes the documents and statements that new applicants seeking approval for the first time must submit with their application.

All the documents and statements must be accurate, complete and reference the requirement listed below.

Your application must include your plans and procedures for meeting these requirements or it may not be approved.

Training Director Requirement – At all times each mold training provider must have a designated Training Director
who is approved by the Department of Labor (DOL). For approval of a mold training course and whenever a new
Training Director is designated submit :

- The Training Director's name
- Proof of their experience in designing, implementing and evaluating employee educational programs
- Proof they will be directly involved in the program

☐ Instructors Requirement – Only approved instructors with mold-related experience and/or education may provide instruction in a course approved by the Department of Labor. Submit:

- The proposed instructor's names
- Their resumes

#### Training Facilities Requirement – Submit:

- The training facility(ies) name(s) and address(es)
- · A description of each facility
- A diagram or blueprint of each facility:
  - It must identify the specific dimensions of both the classroom and hands-on areas, seating arrangements, equipment storage location(s) and record keeping location(s)
    - Note: If records are to be stored at a location other than the training facility, include the address and site-specific information for the record storage room.

### Provider Profile Requirement - Submit:

- A detailed description of your management and corporate structure
- Management personnel and corporate officers names
- Detailed description of other business affiliations including, but not limited to, affiliations with:
  - Mold abatement firms
  - Environmental sampling and analysis firms
  - Manpower brokerage firms

## ☐ Quality Assurance (QA) Program Requirement – Submit Quality Assurance program procedures including:

- Attendance and make-up policy(ies)
- Examination security and re-testing policy(ies)
- Adequacy of facilities
- Instructor evaluation
- Course updates
- Etc.

Languages Requirement – If course will be instructed in a language other than English, submit:

· English translation of everything you submit.

### Record Keeping Requirement –Submit:

- A detailed record keeping procedure which identifies:
  - The type of records to be maintained
  - The security measures that will be implemented to ensure the integrity of the records

	Program Changes Requirement – Submit:
	A description of how you will notify the Department in writing about any changes to an approved training program
	Attestation Form Requirement – Submit:
	A signed copy of the Mold Training Course Manuals Curricula Guidance and Attestation form (SH 124)
Se	ction 2 - Required Documentation from All Applicants: New and Revision Requests
All	s section summarizes the documents and statements <b>all</b> applicants must submit with their application. documents, student manuals, and statements must be accurate and complete. Manual(s) must not contain mmatical or typographical errors.
	Course Outline Requirement – Submit:
	A detailed outline of each course, include:
	<ul> <li>The length of training</li> </ul>
	The amount of time allotted to each topic
	<ul> <li>A description of the type of teaching method for each topic</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>The course outline, labeled with the:</li> </ul>
	Name of the training provider
	Course type     Creation dates and any revision dates.
	<ul> <li>Creation dates and any revision dates</li> </ul>
	Student Manual(s) Requirement – Submit::
	One (1) copy of the entire student manual, include:  All at the entire student manual at the entir
	All other written materials, and regulations, intended to supplement the student manual.  Note: If any information is in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation.
_	Note: If any information is in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation.
	Equipment Requirement – Submit:
	<ul> <li>A description of all materials and equipment to be used for hands-on practice exercises and demonstrations.</li> <li>This is not required for refresher courses.</li> </ul>
	Training Procedures Requirement – Submit:
	A copy of the instructor's lesson plan(s), include:
	<ul> <li>Any transparencies, slides, and audio-visual materials, websites, videos, etc. used to supplement the program presentation</li> </ul>
	Give details of interactive, participatory teaching methods to be used for each topic area
	Examination(s) Requirement – Submit:
	A copy of the examination/test for each course
	<ul> <li>A copy of the Answer Key, with the correct responses, for each examination/test</li> </ul>
	Note: A minimum score of 70 percent is required to pass the examination. (Not required for refresher course.)
	Course Evaluation Form Requirement – Submit:
	A copy of the student evaluation form
	Example Course Certificate of Completion Requirement – Submit:
	A copy of the completion certificate that will be distributed to students.