FOR
1/1/24-12/31/24

From January 1, 2024 through December 31, 2024, the minimum hourly rates that employers must pay to tipped workers
are shown below.

HOSPITALITY INDUSTRY

5 Long Island and Remainder of
New York City Westchester County New York State
. $13.35 Cash Wage $13.35 Cash Wage $12.50 Cash Wage
Service Employees
$2.65 Tip Credit $2.65 Tip Credit $2.50 Tip Credit
Food Service $10.65 Cash Wage $10.65 Cash Wage $10 Cash Wage
Workers $5.35 Tip Credit $5.35 Tip Credit $5 Tip Credit

*For more info about minimum wage standards in these and other industries: https://dol.ny.gov/minimum-wage-0

COMBINING CASH WAGES AND TIP LIMITATIONS ON TIP CREDITS IN THE
CREDITS TO SATISFY THE MINIMUM WAGE HOSPITALITY INDUSTRY

New York State law allows employers in all industries Employers in the hospitality industry may not take tip
other than building service to satisfy the minimum wage credits for:

by combining a “cash wage” paid by the employer with

a credit or allowance for tips that the employee receives
from customers. For example, the minimum wage for food
service workers in New York City is $16.00 per hour. Their - Weeks when service employees receive tips averaging
employers can satisfy the minimum wage by combining a less per hour than the following:

cash wage of at least $10.65 with a tip allowance of no more

than $5.35 per hour.

- Days when tipped workers spend more than two hours,
or twenty percent of a shift, doing non-tipped work

AVERAGE TIPS PER HOUR

Long Island and Remainder of
Westchester County  New York State

In resort hotels $8.95 $8.95 $8.40

In restaurants and
all-year hotels

New York City

$3.45 $3.45 $3.20



LIMITATIONS ON TIP CREDITS IN OTHER
INDUSTRIES

No tip credit is available in the building service Industry.

The tip credit is not available when weekly tips average
less than the minimum amount specified for the location
and size of employer.

Please Note: As of December 31, 2020, tip allowances

are not permitted in miscellaneous industries (all other

industries except hospitality, farmworkers, and building
service). Employers are not permitted to keep or retain

any portion of a tip that an employee receives.

OVERTIME

For tipped workers, employers must pay overtime hours
worked at time-and-one-half the minimum wage rate, less
the applicable tip credit.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

If you need additional assistance, or want to file a
complaint, please call 1-888-4NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365)
or visit www.labor.ny.gov/minimumwage.

The New York State Department of Labor is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.

P717 (11/23) Auxiliary aides and services are available upon request and free of charge to individuals with disabilities TTY/TDD 711 or 1-800-662-1220 (English) / 1-877-662-4386.



