R A Y

WE ARE YK UR DOL

D

ar!tment

aher

7

Under the'New York State Public Employee Safety and Health Act

New York State’s Public Employee Occupational Safety and
Health Act of 1980 offers safety and health coverage to all
public employees at the State and local levels. The Act offers
the same OSHA safety and health standards that apply to
workers in the private sector to employees in the public
sector. This fact sheet gives you a broad view of the features
of the law.

EMPLOYEE RESPONSIBILITIES

Under the Act, employees include all employees of:
« The State

- Any political subdivision of the State

- Public authorities created by the State

An employer must provide a workplace free from known
hazards. The employees also have responsibilities. They
must follow the OSHA safety and health standards and
any other regulations that apply to their own actions and
conduct on the job.

STANDARDS

The Law requires the Commissioner of Labor to adopt all
standards listed under the United States Occupational
Safety and Health Act.

INSPECTIONS

The Commissioner of Labor has sole authority to enforce
the safety and health standards required under the Act.
An inspection can result from a complaint, an accident,
or part of a regularly scheduled program. We give the

highest priority to imminent danger complaint inspections.

Representatives of the employer and the employees are
invited to go with the inspector during an inspection. This
is called a “walkaround.”

ENFORCEMENT

If we issue a Notice of Violation and Order to Comply to
an employer, it will:

« Describe the violation

« Refer to the standard in question

. List the type of violations (serious, non-serious, willful
or repeat)

« Set a time for compliance

When the Commissioner issues an order to comply, the
employer must post it or a copy of it:

« In a conspicuous place

- At or near each place of violation cited

« Where it is clearly visible to affected employees

The Commissioner will give copies of Orders to Comply
to all organizations that represent employees.

PENALTY ASSESSMENT

We impose a PER DAY penalty assessment on an employer
that fails to correct a violation by its abatement date. Until
the violations are corrected, we will assess a penalty of
up to:

« $50 per day for each non-serious violation
- $200 per day for each serious violation

We list the penalty assessed for each violation in the
Failure to Abate Notice.

EMPLOYEE CONTEST

If there is a question about the notice, you have recourse.
An affected employee or authorized representative may
submit a notice of contest (in writing) to the Labor Department
about the abatement period set in the Notice of Violation
and Order to Comply.



INFORMAL CONFERENCE

If issues arise from an inspection and the orders to comply,
we make arrangements for an informal conference. This
is a meeting of the Supervising Inspector of the Public
Employee Safety and Health (PESH) Bureau to discuss
issues with an employer, employee or an authorized
representative of the employees. To ask for an informal
conference, contact the nearest PESH district office by
phone or letter, within 20 working days from the issue
date on the orders.

APPEALS

If employees do not agree with an order, they or their
representative may appeal to the Industrial Board of
Appeals within 60 days.

Address the appeal to:

Industrial Board of Appeals
Empire State Plaza

Agency Building 2, 20th Floor
Albany, NY 12223

If employees are dissatisfied with a decision of the
Industrial Board of Appeals, they may begin a proceeding
according to Article 78 of the Civil Practice Law and Rules.
They must do so within 60 days after the Board’s decision.

ALTERNATIVE COMPLIANCE AGREEMENT

If the Public Employer proposes a different way to comply,
PESH may enter into an alternative compliance agreement.
PESH will ask the Division of Safety and Health’s Engineering
Services Unit (ESU) to help review the employer’s proposal.
The employer will submit their alternative to ESU, which
will review it and schedule a meeting to discuss and refine
the proposal.

The Employer, affected Unions and PESH will attend that
meeting. They will write up the results into an alternative
compliance agreement agreed to by all parties. PESH will
conduct a follow-up inspection to ensure the employer

has complied with the alternative compliance agreement.

INJUNCTIONS

When inspectors see a situation that may present an
imminent danger of serious physical harm or death to an
employee, they must notify the employees involved and
the employer, and ask for immediate corrective action.

- If the employer agrees with the inspector and acts to
remove the imminent danger, no injunction is needed

- If the employer does not agree and refuses to act on
the danger, the inspector will advise both parties that
the Commissioner of Labor will take legal action to
improve the situation

« In these cases the Commissioner must seek an injunction
within 48 hours; if the Commissioner fails to take action,
any person affected by the situation may do so

PETITION TO MODIFY AN ABATEMENT DATE

At times the employers cannot comply with a violation
because certain needs are not available. They may apply
for a Petition to Modify an Abatement Date, if they lack:

« Professional or technical personnel
« Materials and equipment needed to come into compliance

« The employers must prove they are taking all available
steps to protect the employees exposed to the hazard,
and must institute a program to reach compliance as
quickly as possible

VARIANCES

Employers may ask for permanent variances from a
standard listed under the Act. They must give employees:

« Notice of each application

« The opportunity to participate in a hearing

The Commissioner may issue a permanent variance after
due process, including a hearing. The variance may be
issued if evidence shows that the conditions, practices,
means, methods, operations or processes used or proposed
by the employer are as safe and healthful as if the employer
complied with the standard.

We can modify or revoke a permanent variance upon
application by the employer, employee or employee
representative. The Commissioner may apply to modify or
revoke a permanent variance six months after the issue date.

Employers may apply for a temporary variance from a new
standard if they cannot comply by the effective date
because of the unavailability of materials, equipment or
technical personnel.

DISCRIMINATION

No employer may discharge, otherwise discipline or in
any manner discriminate against any person because the
employee has:

- Filed a complaint

- Started any proceeding under or related to this program
Employees who think they are being discriminated against
may file a complaint with the Commissioner of Labor. The

Commissioner must investigate the allegation and decide
on its merit.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Call PESH at 1-844-SAFE-NYS (1-844-723-3697), email
PESH ask.shnypesh@labor.ny.gov

The New York State Department of Labor is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.

Auxiliary aides and services are available upon request and free of charge to individuals with disabilities

TTY/TDD 711 or 1-800-662-1220 (English) / 1-877-662-4886.

The FFY24 23(g) Public Employee Safety and Health (PESH) Program is funded by a federal grant of $4,295,600, which
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constitutes 50% of its budget. 50%, or 4,295,600 is funded by state or non-governmental sources.



