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Frequency of Pay Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Labor Law Section 191 outlines the frequency by which employees must be paid.   
 

Manual Workers:  Wages must be paid weekly and not later than seven calendar days 
after the end of the week in which the wages are earned.  Manual workers for non-
profit entities must be paid in accordance with their agreed terms of employment but 
not less frequently than semi-monthly.  Large employers of manual workers may apply 
to the Commissioner of Labor to pay manual workers semi-monthly. 
 
Railroad Workers:  Wages must be paid on or before Thursday of each week and must 
include wages earned during the seven-day period ending on the Tuesday of the 
preceding week. 
 
Commission Salespersons:  Wages must be paid in accordance with the agreed terms set 
forth in the written commission agreement but: 
 
 Not less frequently than once in each month  
 Not later than the last day of the month following the month in which the wages 

are earned  
 
 If wages are substantial, additional compensation earned, including extra or incentive 
earnings, may be paid less frequently than once in each month. 
 
Executives, Administrators, and Professionals:  Section 191 does not apply to persons 
employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity whose 
earnings are in excess of $900 a week.   
 
Clerical or Other Workers:  Wages must be paid in accordance with the agreed terms of 
employment and not less frequently than semi-monthly. 

 
Who is covered by Section 191 of the Labor Law? 
 
All private sector employers are covered by Section 191 and the protections apply to most 
employees working for such employers in New York.   Federal, state and local government 
employers are not covered. Charter schools, private schools, and not-for-profit corporations are 
covered, as they are private entities within the meaning of this provision.   
 
While persons employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity who 
earn in excess of $900 per week are outside of the coverage of Section 191, an employee’s 
status as “exempt” for overtime purposes does not remove him or her from the coverage of 
Section 191. 
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Who is a “manual worker”? 
 
Section 190(4) of the New York State Labor Law defines a “manual worker” as “a mechanic, 
workingman or laborer.”  It has been the long-standing interpretation of this Department that 
individuals who spend more than 25% of working time engaged in “physical labor” fit within the 
meaning of the term “manual worker.”  Furthermore, the term “physical labor” has been 
interpreted broadly to include countless physical tasks performed by employees. 
 
Who is a “railroad worker”? 
 
Section 190(4) of the Labor Law defines a “railroad worker” as any person employed by an 
employer who operates a steam, electric, or diesel surface railroad or is engaged in the sleeping 
car business. The term "railroad worker" does not include a person employed in an executive 
capacity.  Railroad workers do not include employees of governmental agencies. 
 
Who is a “commission salesman”? 
 
A commission salesman or salesperson is defined in Section 190(6) of the Labor Law as any 
employee whose: 
 

• Principal activity is the selling of any goods, wares, merchandise, services, real estate, 
securities, insurance or any article or thing  

• Earnings are based in whole or in part on commissions  
 
The term "commission salesman" does not include an employee whose principal duties are of a 
supervisory, managerial, executive, or administrative nature, even if such employee also 
engage in the sale of goods etc. 
 
Who is a “person employed in a ‘bona fide’ executive, administrative, or professional 
capacity”? 
 
The definitions set forth in regulation 12 NYCRR §142-2.14 are used to define the terms 
“executive, administrative, and professional” for purposes of Section 191 of the Labor Law.  (In 
re Yorke, PR-07-035 [2008].)  However, this regulation does not reflect the statutory earnings 
threshold in Section 191. Therefore, the $900 earnings threshold contained in Section 191 
substitutes for the amounts contained in regulation 12 NYCRR §142-2.14. 
 
Executive 
 
To qualify as a bona fide executive, all of the following tests must be met: 
 

• The Employee’s primary duty consists of the management of the enterprise 
• The Employee customarily and regularly directs the work of two or more other 

employees 
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• The Employee has the authority to hire or fire other employees 
• The Employee’s suggestions and recommendations as to the hiring, firing, 

advancement, promotion, or any other change of status of other employees have 
particular weight 

• The Employee customarily and regularly exercises discretionary powers 
• The Employee must be paid in excess of $900 per week 

 
Administrative: 
 
To qualify as a bona fide administrative employee, all of the following tests must be met:  
 

• The Employee’s primary duty consists of the performance of office or non-manual 
fieldwork, directly related to management policies or general operations. 

• The Employee customarily and regularly exercises discretion and independent 
judgment. 

• The Employee regularly and directly assists an employer, or an employee employed in 
a bona fide executive or administrative capacity or who performs under general 
supervision, work along specialized or technical lines requiring special training, 
experience or knowledge. 

• The Employee must be paid in excess of $900 per week. 
 

Professional 
 
To qualify as a bona fide professional employee, all of the following tests must be met:  
 

The employee’s primary duty consists of the performance of work that:  
 

• Requires knowledge of an advanced type in a field of science or learning customarily 
acquired by a prolonged course of specialized intellectual instruction and study, as 
distinguished from 
o A general academic education  
o An apprenticeship  
o Training in the performance of routine mental, manual, or physical processes  

or  
• Is original and creative in a recognized field of artistic endeavor, and produces a result 

that depends primarily on the invention, imagination, or talent of the employee  
 

The employee’s work: 
 

• Requires the consistent exercise of discretion and judgment in its performance 
• Is predominantly intellectual and varied in character (as opposed to routine mental, 

manual, mechanical or physical work) 
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• Is of such a character that the output produced or the result accomplished cannot be 
standardized in relation to a given period of time   

 
The employee must be paid in excess of $900 per week. 

 
Who is a “clerical or other worker”? 
 
A “clerical or other worker” under New York State Labor Law is an employee who does not fall 
under any of the other statutory categories of worker found in the Labor Law. That is, NOT a 
“manual worker” under Section 190(4), a “railroad worker” under 190(5), a “commission 
salesman” under 190(6), or an employee employed in a “bona fide executive, administrative or 
professional capacity.”  An employee who fits within any of those other definitions is not a 
“clerical or other worker.” 
 
Can large employers pay manual workers bi-weekly? 
 
A company may apply to the Department for permission to pay manual workers bi-weekly if the 
company: 
 

• Has had an average of 1,000 employees in New York for the three years preceding the 
application 

• Had an average of 3,000 out-of-state employees for the three years preceding the 
application and an average of 1,000 employees in New York for the year preceding the 
application  

 
The Department will consider a number of factors dealing with the employer’s financial stability 
and history of compliance under the Labor Law.  Where the manual workers are represented by 
a labor organization, a permit will not be granted without consent from that organization. 
 
Can an employer require employees to accept other frequencies of pay? 
 
Employees cannot be required, as a condition of employment, to accept wages at periods other 
than those provided in Section 191 of the Labor Law. 
 
Do partial wage payments satisfy an employer’s obligations under Section 191 of the Labor 
Law? 

 
Section 191 of the Labor law requires the timely payment in full for all hours worked at an 
employee’s agreed-upon rate of pay. 
 
When are employers required to pay employees whose employment has ended due to 
termination, retirement, or resignation? 
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Employees whose employment has ended are entitled to be paid no later than the pay day on 
which their next pay would have been due had they still been employed.  Upon request of the 
employee, employers are required to mail the employee his or her wages.  Nothing in the Labor 
Law prevents an employer from paying a terminated employee his or her wages at: 
 
 The time of termination  
 Some other time before the payday on which the wages would have been due  

 
May employers mail employees their paychecks? 
 
Nothing in the Labor Law prohibits an employer from mailing an employee his or her paycheck.  
However, employees must receive their paycheck in the time specified in Section 191, as 
described above.  Therefore, employers must allow sufficient time for the mail to be delivered 
to the employee to avoid violations of Section 191. 
 
Are employers required to issue employees replacement paychecks? 
 
Employers are required to issue, without charge to the employee, a new paycheck (or 
otherwise pay wages to the employee) if a previously issued paycheck: 
 

• Was lost  
• Is otherwise no longer in the employee’s possession   

 
Regardless of the circumstances under which the check was lost, employers are prohibited by 
Sections 191 and 193 of the Labor Law from charging an employee through wage deduction for: 
 

• Any fees incurred for stopping payment on a check  
• The costs incurred for issuing a new check   

 
What is a “substantial” amount of wages? 
 
The frequency of pay requirement for commission salespersons permits additional 
compensation earned, including extra or incentive earnings, to be paid less frequently if the 
employee’s wages are “substantial.”  The Department has determined that the term 
“substantial” should be viewed in accordance with the threshold amount for employees 
working in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity.  Currently, the 
threshold amount is $900 per week. 
 
What should employers do if an employee dies? 
 
Section 191 of the Labor Law has been interpreted to required that employers make reasonable 
efforts pay deceased employee’s wages within the time periods specified in that Section.  
Reasonable efforts should include the following: 
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• Contact any emergency contact or next of kin identified in the employee’s personnel file 
• Attempt to contact any known family or friends of the employee, if other than the 

emergency contact  
• Contact the Surrogate’s Court to determine whether estate or probate proceedings 

have been commenced and an estate administrator identified 
• Review obituary notices to locate the widow, widower or other family member of the 

deceased employee  
• Speak with the funeral director handling the deceased’s funeral arrangements to either 

obtain contact information on the deceased’s family or to send a message to the family 
to be in contact with the employer  

• Contact insurers on company sponsored life insurance to identify beneficiaries who can 
be contacted for estate information  

• Contact the County Health Department or other entity that issues Death Certificate to 
find out the identity of the next of kin listed on the Certificate   
 

In addition to these efforts, the employer may certainly undertake any additional efforts 
designed to identify an appropriate contact.  If, after these efforts, the employer is unable to 
locate or contact the estate representative or next of kin of the employee, the employer must 
remit the funds to the Office of the State Comptroller after three years in accordance with the 
State Abandoned Property Law. 
 
 
 

 


