
 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Commissioner’s Charge 

 

Let me begin by thanking each of you for agreeing to perform this very important 

public service.  I especially want to thank Brenda McDuffie for agreeing to serve as 

Chair. You each have a unique background that gives you special insight into the 

concerns of farmers, workers, and the public that you should draw on.  As you 

conduct your deliberations, I am confident that you will respect and appreciate the 

perspectives of your colleagues and work together to meet the goals set forth in 

this charge. 

 

New York has a long history of setting minimum wages and overtime protections 

through wage boards and wage orders that focus on specific industries and 

occupations. From the 1930s until 1960, that was the only way that minimum wage 

and overtime protections were established.  In 1960, the legislature changed the 

law to establish a single statewide minimum wage but kept the old system in place 

to allow wage boards to recommend higher minimum wage and overtime rates for 

specific industries and occupations. 

 

For farm laborers, the history of minimum wage and overtime protections is not as 

lengthy, but history is being made today.  As compared with employees in other 

industries, farm laborers had to wait an additional thirty years to get the first 

minimum wage in 1969, another 30 years for their wage to equal that of other 

workers in 1999, and another 20 years to get any overtime protections in 2020. 

 

History is being made today as we convene New York’s first Farm Laborers Wage 

Board to solicit your recommendations on overtime work for farm laborers.  I 

hereby convene this wage board at the direction of the legislature and Governor, 

as part of the 2019 Farm Laborers Fair Labor Practices Act and pursuant to 

minimum wage provisions of Articles 19 and 19A of the Labor Law.     

 

The Farm Laborers Fair Labor Practices Act extended worker protections to farm 

laborers in many areas, including collective bargaining, workers compensation, 

unemployment insurance, housing, day of rest, and overtime.  The task of this 

Farm Laborers Wage Board is narrowly focused on the issue of overtime and, 

specifically, your charge is as follows: 



 
 

 
 

 

• The board shall make recommendations for overtime work for farm laborers 

that shall not be in excess of sixty hours. 

• The board shall consider the extent to which overtime hours can be lowered 

below the 60 hours set in law, and 

• The board may provide for a series of successively lower overtime work 

thresholds and phase-in dates as part of its determinations. 

 

Your task is to engage in a meaningful inquiry focused on these workers, on this 

industry, and the underlying state policy and legislative purpose.  As you receive 

public testimony, I encourage you to take the opportunity to ask questions and 

engage those who testify to identify what you can about these workers, this 

industry, and about overtime standards more generally.   

 

We at the Department of Labor will endeavor to provide you with the information 

you need to assist in your deliberation.  Pico Ben-Amotz, General Counsel to the 

Department of Labor, will serve as Counsel to the board and will be available in 

connection with legal issues.  Jim Rogers, Deputy Commissioner for Worker 

Protection, will serve as secretary to the board and will be your first line of 

communication with the Department.  Bohdan Wynnyk and his staff in our 

Research and Statistics Division will provide you with available research material.  

In addition to those resources within the Department, the board may consult with 

agricultural employers and farm laborers, and their respective representatives, in 

the occupation or occupations involved, and with such other persons, including the 

Commissioner of Labor and the Commissioner of Agriculture and Markets, as it 

shall determine.   

 

The time you have to do your work is limited by law.  You have 45 days from today 

to conduct at least three public hearings at which the public will be afforded an 

opportunity to provide comments and you will have until December 31, 2020, to 

submit your report and recommendations to the Governor and the legislature.  I 

understand that you have scheduled public hearings across the state.  During the 

45 days following your report, the Commissioner may confer with you and may 

remand the matter back to you for further consideration.   

 

At this point, I’d like to turn to Pico Ben-Amotz to discuss the legal standards and 

relevant legislative history that you should be aware of. 


