Division of Safety and Health Safety Training Program Harriman State Office Campus Building 12, Room 154 Albany, NY 12226 (518) 457-1536



Application for Approval or Revision of an Elevator and Other Conveyances Continuing Education Training Course

Use this form to apply for approval as a New York State Elevator/Conveyance ("Elevator") Training Provider. You may also use this form to request approval for changes to previously approved courses. (Article 33, Section 954 of the New York State Labor Law).

You must provide personal information to complete this form. The authority to collect this information is found in the New York State (NYS) Labor Law. This information will be maintained and used to process the application you are filing with the Safety Training Program. Failure to provide this information may result in our inability to process your application.

Please type or print clearly and sign this form with black ink. Please see pages 2 through 5 for how to submit your application, fees and required documents.

Business Applicant's Information

Legal Name of Company (Must match Department of Stat	te Registration):		
Mailing Address:			
City:	_ State:	Zip:	
Phone Number: Fax Number:			
Email: We	bsite:		
Training Director Name:			
What are you applying for? Check One:			
Approval as a new, New York State Elevator and Othe Provider (\$500.00 fee per course)	er Conveyances (Continuing Education Training	
Approval for revisions to the technical contents of a p Elevator Training Provider number (ETP #):	reviously approve	ed course (\$100.00 fee per co	ırse
Course Information			
Course Availability: In-House Only	Available to	the Public	
Instructional Mode: Classroom (In Person)	Online		
For a description course requirement and how it relates to (Elevator Continuing Education Course Curriculum In	• .	s, please consult SH-118:	

SH 115 (08/23) Page 1 of 5

https://dol.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2023/08/sh118_1.pdf

Language(s)

List the languages the course(s) will be instructed in:

Supplements to the Application			
To be completed by all applicants. Attach evidence that shows if you are one or more of the following:			
New York State Department of Health approved asbestos training provider.			
Registered New York State Labor Apprenticeship Program.			
Educational or school chartered, licensed or registered by New York State Education Department.			
None of the above. Note: Participation in any of these options is not re this application.	quired to be considered for		
Acknowledgement			
This statement must be signed by the applicant or the applicant's authorized representative.			
• I swear the information on this form is correct to the best of my knowledge.			
I am aware there are penalties for making false statements.			
 I understand that this application is subject to verification and I agree to pr documentation as needed. 	ovide any additional		
I understand outside sources may be contacted to verify information contapermission to the outside sources for the disclosure of any information needs.			
I swear that the training facilities and equipment are adequate to accomme	odate the students' needs.		
• I swear that the course conforms to all the requirements stated in SH-118 Course Curriculum Information).	(Elevator Continuing Education		
• I swear that I will comply with the requirements of Article 33 of the New Yo	rk State Labor Law		
Applicant Signature:	Date:		
Print Name:	Title:		
To Submit This Application			
You must include with your application:			
The non-refundable, application fee:			
New: \$500.00 for each classroom-based course application.			

• **Revision:** \$100.00 for each application to revise the technical content of a course.

New: \$500.00 for each online based course application.

• Make checks or money orders payable to the 'Commissioner of Labor.' Do not send cash.

SH 115 (08/23) Page 2 of 5

Note: the fee is \$1,000 if both classroom-based and online based courses are applied for.

And

• Include all required documents. See pages 3 through 5 for checklists of required documents:

New applicants: complete Sections 1 and 2.

Current, approved New York State Elevator Continuing Education Training applicants: complete Section 2 only.

- Mail the original, signed application, fees and documents to the New York State Department of Labor, Division of Safety and Health, Safety Training Program, Harriman State Office Campus, Building 12, Room 154, Albany, NY 12240.
- Keep a copy for your records.

Approval/Disapproval

If your application is **approved**, we will send you an approval letter and an Approved Elevator Training Provider number. If your application **disapproved**, we will send you a letter describing the reasons for the disapproval. You may reapply at any time. We may also request additional information. Depending on the extent of the deficiencies, a new application and fee may be required. **For more information visit:** https://dol.ny.gov/elevator-licensing-information.

Section 1 - Required Documentation from New Applicants

This section summarizes the documents and statements that new applicants seeking approval for the first time must submit with their application. If you are applying to revise the technical contents of a previously approved course, you do not need to complete this Section. All the documents and statements must be accurate, complete and reference the requirement listed below. Your application must include your plans and procedures for meeting these requirements or it may not be approved.

Training Director Requirement

At all times each elevator continuing education training provider must have a designated Training Director who is approved by the Department of Labor (DOL). For approval of an elevator training course and whenever a new Training Director is designated, **submit:**

- The Training Director's name
- Proof of their experience in designing, implementing and evaluating employee educational programs
- Proof they will be directly involved in the program

Instructors Requirement

Only approved instructors with elevator-related experience and/or education may provide instruction in a course approved by the Department of Labor. To be considered for approval, instructors must satisfy either condition (A) or (B):

- A) At least five (5) years of experience in construction, alteration, modification, maintenance or repair of elevators/conveyances as defined in NYS Labor Law Article 33, Section 950(1) AND one of the following:
- Certificate of completion from the National Association of Elevator Contractors (NAEC), National Elevator Industry Educational Program (NEIE), National Association of Elevator Safety Authorities (NAESA) or other approved training providers deemed acceptable by the Department
- Certification in good standing under the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) as a Qualified Elevator Inspector

SH 115 (08/23) Page 3 of 5

B) A professional engineer who is in good standing with a valid license having five (5) years' experience in the elevator/conveyances industry as defined in NYS Labor Law Article 33, Section 950(1).

Submit:

- The proposed instructors' names
- Their resumes
- A copy of their certificate or license

Training Facilities Requirement – Submit:

- The training facility(ies) name(s) and address(es)
- A description of each facility
- A diagram or blueprint of each facility:

It must identify the specific dimensions of both the classroom and hands-on areas, seating arrangements, equipment storage location(s) and record keeping location(s)

Note: If records are to be stored at a location other than the training facility, include the address and site- specific information for the record storage room.

Provider Profile Requirement - Submit:

- A detailed description of your management and corporate structure
- Management personnel and corporate officers' names
- Detailed description of other business affiliations including, but not limited to, affiliations with:

Elevator/conveyance contractor firms

Firms offering elevator/conveyance parts and/or products

Quality Assurance (QA) Program Requirement – Submit Quality Assurance program procedures including:

- Attendance and make-up policy(ies)
- Adequate accommodations for students
- Instructor evaluation
- Course updates

Languages Requirement – If course will be instructed in a language other than English, submit:

English translation for everything you submit.

Record Keeping Requirement – Submit:

A detailed record keeping procedure which identifies:

The type of records to be maintained

The security measures that will be implemented to ensure the integrity of the records

Program Changes Requirement – Submit:

 A description of how you will notify the Department in writing about any changes to an approved training program

SH 115 (08/23) Page 4 of 5

Attendance Sign-in/Sign-Out Requirement - Submit:

An attendance record sheet which includes the following identifying information: training provider name, training provider ID, training date, course start and end times, training location and instructor signature.
 The roster table for the students should include: student's name, DMV ID, signatures at the class beginning and ending and lunch initial in/out. Training providers may choose to use the Department's version of the attendance record which will be provided upon course approval.

Section 2 - Required Documentation from All Applicants: New and Revision Requests

This section summarizes the documents and statements all applicants must submit with their application. All documents, student manuals, and statements must be accurate and complete. Manual(s) must not contain grammatical or typographical errors.

Course Outline Requirement – Submit:

• A detailed outline of each course, include:

The length of training

The amount of time allotted to each topic

A description of the type of teaching method for each topic

The course outline, labeled with the:

Name of the training provider, Course type, Creation dates and any revision dates

Student Manual(s) Requirement – Submit:

- One (1) electronic copy (in PDF format) of the entire student manual, **including:**All other written materials, and regulations, intended to supplement the student manual.
- Note: If any information is in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation.

Training Procedures Requirement – Submit:

• A copy of the instructor's lesson plan(s), include:

Any transparencies, slides, and audio-visual materials, websites, videos, etc. used to supplement the program presentation

• Give details of interactive, participatory teaching methods to be used for each topic area

Online Requirement (if applying for an online class) – Submit:

• A writeup on how online training procedures are able to meet the requirements outlined in the:

Online Elevator Continuing Education Course Requirements.

Course Evaluation Form Requirement – Submit:

A copy of the student evaluation form

Example Course Certificate of Completion Requirement – Submit:

• A copy of the completion certificate that will be distributed to students.

SH 115 (08/23) Page 5 of 5